Mechanical Engineer (Female, Age 45) in Homer Glen, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Mechanical Engineer in Homer Glen, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMechanical Engineer
Salary$90,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHomer Glen, NY
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
High energy physics national laboratory

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Design and fabricate various components for the beamlines including magnet stands, ultra high vacuum components and other items.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
8 weeks vacation/year, sick leave, HMO health insurance, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with numerous people on my projects. I like this, for the most part.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. I like it since I have my own office with a nice view.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work and check email. Work on design calculations for lifting fixture.
8am to 9amContinue calculations and call vendor about beam tube brazing quote that they presented us.
9am to 10amCall co-worker to review quote and write requisition and sole source justification.
10am to 11amCheck drawings on beam tube brazing to ensure that the lengths are correct. Also, work on lifting fixture cals.
11am to 12pmDiscuss interview with co-workers and discuss other interview from the other day. Send e-mails regarding project progress and review tank design with other engineer.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmFinish design calculations and review previous requisitions from vendor. Call procurement about an order that has not yet been placed for the fabrication of beam tubes
2pm to 3pmInterview candidate for mechanical technician job. Before interview, review resume and applications and interview questions.
3pm to 4pmWrap up work for the day. Review cavity strut design and start on it.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
online at Fermi site

What was the application process?
online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 5 people interviewed

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I only remember one question pertaining to vacuum and heat transfer specifically.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Classes are offered onsite.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
safety, training in year in technical field

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have a degree that is directly applicable.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a mechanical engineering degree and intern during college.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
analytical, persistant, organized, like math & science.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
mechanical engineering degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Learn as much as you can everyday.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I like working here.

What are your current career goals?
Broadening my knowledge base in my field.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1co-op3 yearsdon’t rememberWorked on the design of components for APS and also Energy Systems.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.8IITmechanical engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.