Teacher (Female, Age 39) in Manassas, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Teacher in Manassas, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$61,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationManassas, VA
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A public school in the state of Virginia. We teach students between the grades of K – 12.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach 3 classes of Spanish to middle schoolers between the grades of 6 and 8. They range in age between 10 and 14. I have to plan lessons, implement them, reflect on what worked and what could be improved. I grade papers and conduct lessons. I also have to patrol the cafeteria for 25 minutes a day to help protect the students from each other.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
403b, pension plan, health insurance, snow days, 12 days sick leave annually that may accumulate.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with classes of around 25 students per period, and the interaction is fantastic. You can learn as much from the students as they can learn from you. My colleagues are also interested in sharing best practices in the classroom and in any way that can make the classroom a better place in which to work. It is the best part of the job!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Teachers of the same subject often co-plan their lessons. Collaboration is highly encouraged in the school setting.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDrive to work. Arrive, make coffee & check email.
8am to 9amHall duty until 8:20. Planning period for the rest of the time. I plan lessons, meet with my colleagues, grade papers and catch up on paperwork.
9am to 10amPlanning period. I continue to plan lessons, meet with my colleagues, grade papers and catch up on paperwork.
10am to 11am8th grade Spanish I class. This is an elementary class, we cover spoken, written, and auditory language skills.
11am to 12pm7th grade Spanish 1B class. This is the second half of the elementary class, we cover spoken, written, and auditory language skills.
12pm to 1pmCafeteria duty from 12: 20 until 12:46. Lunch from 12:46 to 1:10.
1pm to 2pm6th grade Spanish 1A class. This is the first half of the elementary class, we cover spoken, written, and auditory language skills.
2pm to 3pmMeetings with Administration, Guidance, Colleagues, and/or Parents.
3pm to 4pmGrade papers and catch up on paperwork.
4pm to 5pmDrive home.
5pm to 6pmWatch 5:00 news.
6pm to 7pmPick up 22 month old son from day care and play with him and feed him dinner.
7pm to 8pmPut 22 month old son to bed.
8pm to 9pmPrepare dinner and begin to eat.
9pm to 10pmFinish dinner and unwind from day.
10pm to 11pmIn bed.
11pm to 12amSleeping – I hope.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I called the County HR Department to see if they had availability in my field.

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume, then was called in for an interview. But I know that we now have an electronic application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to interview with the principal and Department Chairperson in the school with the opening. I also had to interview with the head of the Foreign Language Department for the county.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked to describe a sample lesson from beginning to end. I was asked how I would handle behavior issues. I was asked about extracurricular activities I might be interested in sponsoring.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely. My principal told me about the classes I would teach and the type of student the school had.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I have a Master’s Degree in Secondary Education in Spanish. I took 30 credit hours of Spanish courses, as well as Education courses, and a Student Teaching assignment.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not quite. Paper can never truly give the experience a clarity that can only be experienced by actual teaching.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
A semester of student teaching was a very helpful experience. You can’t learn to teach from a book. You have to live it.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Contact the individual school system either by telephone or by mail and enclose your resume. The other way is to find someone in the system in which you are interested and have them contact the HR department on their behalf.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You must be very organized – you are juggling around 150 students a day and all of their work. That is in addition to the standard paperwork required by the administration. A desire to teach is important, and most of all a good sense of humor is mandatory.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You should have a Master’s Degree in your subject area.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient, and don’t smile before Christmas Break. It really works! Also, stay on top of your grading or it piles up quickly.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Absolutely. I love my career as an educator. I couldn’t see myself doing anything else.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to continue my education and learn new methods of teaching.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s a wonderful career.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teacher1996 – Present61000Teach Spanish to students in grades 6 – 8.
Prior Job 2Coordinator1995 – 1996Don’t recallSecretarial duties at the National Capital Chapter of the Red Cross.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.05American UniversityBGS – Foreign Languages & Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.57Iona CollegeMS.Ed Secondary Education in Spanish

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.