Plumber (Female, Age 39) in warren, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Plumber in warren, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Plumber
Salary $60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location warren, MI
Years Experience 12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
local union

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
read blueprints and install piping accordingly

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, pension, 401k, vacation pay

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work with others, i like it very much as you have another opinion and everyone has had different experiences and you learn alot this way

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
i work in the dield, i like it because you are not always stuck in the same place all the time.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am begin work, gather tools and bluprints and take everything to my work area. look over what we left off on and continue where we left off.
8am to 9am still working putting pipe up and making hangers for additional pipe.
9am to 10am take our break, and continue to make hangers and install our pipe.
10am to 11am go out to the conex to get more materials to continue working o our lines.
11am to 12pm lunch
12pm to 1pm pick up where we left off installing our piping, get out the torch and soldering stuff, solder the pipe we have installed today.
1pm to 2pm get the forman to find us more work as the line we were working on is now finished. he goes to the office to run off more blueprints for thejob we are going to do. he comes back and explains the job to us
2pm to 3pm spend the rest of the day gathering materials to complete the job. fin all the necessary tools so that we can come in in the morning and go straight to our work area and get started. go home at 3.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes after completing an aptitude test i had a group interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
no

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, the apprenticeship is a very large committment

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
y a 5 year apprentiship

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes i had a strong math background

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes that is wherer you learn most of the tasks you complete

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
apply to their local union and get accepted into the apprentiship program, and complete your apprentiship

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
math, mechanicalability

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
trade school graduate

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
learn everything you can

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes i make a decent living

What are your current career goals?
i have finished school, and i will work at my trade

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
it is a very good job

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 plumber 12 years 60000 install all form and applications of piping
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.