Teacher (Female, Age 35) in newark, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Teacher in newark, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $53,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 38
Company Size (not answered)
Location newark, NJ
Years Experience 12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
there are 1000 children and 60 teachers

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach lessons pertaining to 9th grae literature

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance 2 months vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I teach students

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is an urban environment in an inner city

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am arrive to school/ sign in
8am to 9am period 1 teach English from curriculum

example- define vocabulary words using context clues, introduce new story, give background inforamtion, read story together, answere selected questions, write essay, provide feedback

9am to 10am prep time
10am to 11am period 3 – teach English from curriculum
11am to 12pm period 4 – teach English from curriculum
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm period 6 – teach English from curriculum
2pm to 3pm duty
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
resume, and demo lessons

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, I had 2 semesters of field work; I taught studnets with a seasone dteacher.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
, I learned first hand what was to be expected of me.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes, I learne about different personalitie sand had a idea of what to expect once I had my own classroOm.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They should spend some time teaching studenst first.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
leadership, organization, ability to manage and work with others

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
bachelors and courses in psycology

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Definitely get teaching experince first; maybe work as a sub before you determine whether or not teaching is for you

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I want to be a school administrator soon.

What are your current career goals?
yes, I want to be a school administrator soon.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 teacher 12years 50000 teacher
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:1.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4 Kean University elementary education/ English
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.