4th Grade Teacher 

(Female, Age 38) from Oro Valley, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a 4th Grade Teacher in Oro Valley, AZ. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title 4th Grade Teacher
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Oro Valley, AZ
Years Experience 12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Amphitheater School District. The district has about 15 elementary, 4 middle schools and 3 high schools.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach all subjects to 9 and 10 year olds. I also have a webpage for my classroom and report grades online.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
16 weeks vacation, 10 sick days a year, 5 personal days, health insurance, state retirement, life insurance, vision insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with students all day in my classroom. The other 4th grade teachers and I meet every week to discuss any issues. There are staff meetings monthly with the whole school.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am 7:30 arrive at school. Prepare for the day.
8am to 9am 8:00 am the bell rings and then the students go to a special class, P.E., art, etc.
9am to 10am We work on language arts and reading
10am to 11am 10 – 10:20 students are at recess. I have recess duty on Mondays. 10:20 work on writing.
11am to 12pm Math
12pm to 1pm Lunch until 12:30 and then silent reading
1pm to 2pm Science/Social Studies
2pm to 3pm Science/Social Studies 2:30 Dismiss students 2:30 to 3:30 after school tutoring
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Job board at the school district

What was the application process?
Turned in my application and resume along with my certifications

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did have to interview for my current job. It was 3 teachers and 1 administrator and myself in the interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Questions about technology, how to teach reading, discipline questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they have a first year mentoring program.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went through the teacher training program after I finished my B.A.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
The teacher program prepares you as much as possible for the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Student teaching gave you a feel for what it would be like to have your own classroom.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to the closest college and talk to someone in the education department.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
To be a teacher you must be a multitasker, there are so many things going on in the classroom at one time. You have to be a people person because you are dealing with so many parents/teachers/students.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Substitute teach first to see if it is something you might like.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I love being a teacher

What are your current career goals?
To continue to teach and learn more to help students.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a great career especially for a working mom.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Teacher 12 Years 48000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Long Beach State University B. A. in Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5 Northern Arizona University M.A. in Education

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.