Video Producer (Female, Age 52) in streamwood, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 52 who works as a Video Producer in streamwood, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleVideo Producer
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
Locationstreamwood, IL
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Not for profit para church organization. Head office is about 300 people over 2 facilities (warehouse/admin offices) Bible based ministry for children and families in over 75 countries.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Take a clients concept and create a visual vehicle for use in churches, conferences and youth clubs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation/birthday off/Christmas week off/fun department

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I do like it, however some staff talk tooooo loud, others talk too much of non work related stuff

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amread emails from work, check daily calendar, decide if office day or studio day
8am to 9amdress appropriate for the day (jeans vs business casual) drive to work. Could have an early crew call
9am to 10amset up computer, check emails, check on editor’s progress, sometime have a meeting. If studio day, crew call, or crew meeting. Sometimes work out scripting. Create set
10am to 11amusually a meeting or more studio work. Could also be doing research for project
11am to 12pmcontinuation of previous hour. Try my best to stick to uninterrupted work at this time.
12pm to 1pmLunch or lunch meeting. Sometimes prop run, going past a coffee shop!
1pm to 2pmmeetings or studio work
2pm to 3pmsettle into more solid work time. Good time to write/process paperwork/check emails
3pm to 4pmMost staff is starting to leave ( flex hours) now is good time to plan preproduction/brainstorm any upcoming shoots
4pm to 5pmI am in full gear wrapping up the day. NOT a morning person so this is my best time.
5pm to 6pmForce myself to go home. Check emails again.
6pm to 7pmdinner at home
7pm to 8pmlurk on work email, sometimes do research for project. Walk dog and let creative thoughts churn.
8pm to 9pmread and try to forget about work. Usually have to check email again, may come up with idea, jot down for later
9pm to 10pmgot to bed
10pm to 11pmsleep
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
it found me

What was the application process?
had an opinion on what looked good on screen and worked my way up from PA to producer

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
na

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes and no. Gave me room to play, but still haven’t gone to a class.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
seat of the pants

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, being organized and aware of general business helps understand the process.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have the natural talent of taking an idea and putting it in a visual format. Be organized and creative. BE FLEXIBLE and not egotistical.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good creative outlet. Fun, rewarding work.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, either class room or seat of the pants, but the seat works very well. you can’t learn creativitiy.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get used to long hours at times, it doesn’t work the way you plan on paper, enjoy the rush you get when a shot works.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no. Still haven’t figured out what I want to do when I grow up.

What are your current career goals?
just have a job the is fun and flexible but still brings in some money

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nope

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1admin asst3$20KHelped with the video production details, organized footage, processed bills/charges
Prior Job 2mom5none but kissesstay at home mom for first few years. PT job opened up and took it. Still a mom!

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2U of Wisconsinagriculture/journalism
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.