(Female, Age 30) from seattle, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Auditor in seattle, WA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Auditor
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location seattle, WA
Years Experience 12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a grcoery store with 375 employees. It is a very busy grocery store in the seattle area.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Customer service is always a top priority. I go through and check that our groceries scan right and fix all the errors that occur. I also do some time and attendance as needed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacaion, one week sick time a year( it keeps growing) great health insurance with retail clerks, not sure on retirement. thats a long way off for me

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel i am well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. I work with coworkers as well as customers. I absolutely like it. I do not do well by myself.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am i start work at seven am. go to clock in. walk back to the office where several other people are working. check email, chat with a few people, pull out my scanner, and find where i will be auditing today. i will be doing grocery. head to the frozen foods.
8am to 9am i am scanning items in frozen foods. I dont have a lot of errors. double checking prices and looking for misstocks or if we are out of anything. pretty basic stuff.
9am to 10am This audit was small. i go back to the office. print out my report. there were no errors and i scanned 350 items. I finish the paper work, put it in my binder, take the gun back to a new aisle. stop to talk to customers and employees along the way.
10am to 11am start auditing one of the grocery ailes. a lot of errors. run back and fourth to the office as there are a lot of tags i need to remake.
11am to 12pm lunch time for half hour. then its back to it. still on the same aisle. scanning, helping customers.
12pm to 1pm this audit is taking a long time because there are so many errors. nothing eventful. a few trips back to the office to make the tags. I run around a lot like a chicken with my head cut off
1pm to 2pm finish that audit. there were 10 errors out of 700 items scanned. go back to the office to see what else i can do. dont want to start another audit. usually do two a day.
2pm to 3pm I do some paperwork to help a colleague. tommorrow is payday so i assemble the paychecks for 300+ employees, as well as stapling some random papers on them for the employees to read. this takes a while.
3pm to 4pm i am off at 330. i have finished everything i can. check emails again. talk to my boss and go home
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
i applied online

What was the application process?
online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I went for one interview. i was hired on the spot. had to do a drug test and started the next week.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Mostly about my personality, did i get alogn with others? any problems in previous jobs?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes and no. its hard for any employer to know everything that will happen when someone new has a job. they did thier best

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
i had a lot of training for the auditing. i had to go to another store in burien five days a week at five am for two weeks. it was intense

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I dont feel that you neecesarrily would need education for this job. it didnt hurt though

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You actually can apply online. My job is entry level. You might start out low, but you can move in to something better, quickly, because you show inititive and also are a team player.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I think the most important thing is being able to interact welll with others. Whether its employees, customers, bosses or what have you, it is very important that you are a people person and dont get upset easily. Also, patience is important.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not at all. we have people that are extremely educated, and some with no education.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient. Some aspects of the job take getting used to, but you will thrive if you can be patient and let the little problems work themselves out.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes and no. I dont have a carreer plan anymore. Its Im doing what I want for now. if at some point i dont want to do this anymore, i wont.

What are your current career goals?
My long term plan is to find a job where I love and can retire from in another 36 or so years.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 shoreline community college general
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.