Human Resource Emplyee Representative (Female, Age 45) in Crestwood, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Human Resource Emplyee Representative in Crestwood, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHuman Resource Emplyee Representative
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week0
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCrestwood, KY
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a large logistics comapany. It requires moving shipments from one location to another in a timely mannner.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do hiring, employee retention, orientation, safety, job training, specialty training, dispute resolution, record keeping.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vaca, 401k, heatlh dental and vison insurance. Legal insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with many others on a adaily basis and I enjoy it throughly. I will do an orientation of new emplyees that may hav 25+ people there. I speak to groups. I do job fairs. I wear many hats.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
loud and noisy. It is a warehouse enviroment.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amcommuting. occasionally answer cell phone concerning work related business
8am to 9amCheck email, inner office mail, check daily schedule, attend morning informational meeting concerning missing or late shipments, return phone calls and reply to email
9am to 10amattend floor meeting, meet with an employee concerning missed/tadies and then with the floor manager. Look over employee records checking all facts. work on resolution to employee/manager and arbitrate problems. Main goal is to improve attendance while retaining the employee
10am to 11amdo write up on employee problem resolution. Send copies to all parties involved. Start employee orientation. Help 15 employees correctly fill out all paperwork including tax forms, safety forms, code of conduct. Go over company history, present and future goals.
11am to 12pmDo presentation with powerpoint on how the employee fits into the big picture of our organization. Send new hires out for break and take lunch.
12pm to 1pmTurn on safety orientation film. WHile film is playing return phone call concerning employee injury and get necessary paperwork. Check on injured employee and get paperwork filled out and signed by all parties involved. Return to orientation. Give quiz on safety film. Hand out 2 t-shirts to winning employees.
1pm to 2pmTake tour of plant. Show all aspects of operations from start of production to end product. Answer any and all questions along the way. Introduce Employees to various managers and team leaders along the way. Retuen to orientation room. Answer any more questions. Dismiss oritentation.
2pm to 3pmCall job candidate that did not show up for orietation. Rescheduled to next month. Follow up with my manager on attending workshop for diversity training next month, and attending union labor dispute meeting later in the week. Stop by payroll on way out of work to check on employees check that he lost.
3pm to 4pmWalk thru plant on way out of work and answer several employees questions. One question is about earned vacation time. Another concerns seniority within the union and job availability. Stop and check with 2 area managers on my way out to make sure everything is running smoothly in their areas. Drive home
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend

What was the application process?
filed out an paper app and went to 4 interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had four peson-to-person interviews with varous levels of management within the company. There were 2 individual inteviews and 2 group interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
All the regular questions about education, employeement, ect. The unique questions were what would put me ahead of another candidate. What one thin would I change with in the company and why. What is my biggest/worst fault.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, but it is always a learning process and has to be updated when laws change or are passed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I went thru an internal training session – 2 weeks-along with my college education.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel that my masters degree along with the internship that I had to serve helped to prepare me for this position. what would be expected, duties, problem resolution.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, the internship was invaluable to my sucess.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would tell them to learn as much as possible about the position. It would tell them to listen before you speak. You have to start in any entry level postion in a company that you like. Most somapnies will require you to move up from within.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Have to bbe able to listen. TO think before you speak. You have to know employment laws and hiring practices.You have to have a good speaking voice and can give presentations, do charts, graphs. You have to think outside the box.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes a masters is necessary

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard. IT pays off. This is a job you can love. Look to others in your feild for advice if you are unsure.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, this is what I want to do.

What are your current career goals?
I am exactly where I want to be. I really don’t want to go futher up the corperate ladder. I don’t need the stress of corperate.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I would suggest it highly if you feel that you are a people person. If you think you have common sense and can solve problems. People need to respect you decisions and seek your advice.You must always be willing to learn.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1supervisor3 years22000supevisor in the manufacturing aluminum prducts
Prior Job 2human resources18 monthsnonehiring, firing, orientation, safety, employee retention, records keeping, internal presentations, benefit administration

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3U of KBS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.75U of LMasters in HR

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.