Consultant/Event Planner (Female, Age 48) in New London, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Consultant/Event Planner in New London, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleConsultant/Event Planner
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNew London, NY
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I’m self-employed as a special projects coordinator I help small businesses gain exposure thru various forms of marketing and hosting special events to get their name out there. I design a plan of action for clients based on their needs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
As a Special Projects Coordinator/Event Planner I help small businesses promote their businesses thru designing brochures, business cards, media kits, Press releases, and speical events. With the speical events I find the right location and venues for the client and then proceed to present them with all the components to throwing their special event.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
no

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes my job entails working with individuals on a daily basis and this is something I enjoy doing.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is a small studio type office overlooking the town green and I enjoy working in this space very much.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI start my day by getting up and taking a shower, taking my vitamin regimen and putting on the coffee.
8am to 9amBetween 8-9 I prepare a healty breakfast to which I sit down to eat as I review my agenda for the day. As I review my agenda I make any adjustments that I see fit.
9am to 10amMeet with a potential client to discuss promoting their small business and what way would be best for their type of business. I will discuss with client what her needs are, what kind of budget she is working with. Once I establish her needs then I will outline some possible options.
10am to 11amPut in a call to a current client to discuss their upcoming event. As part of the call I will go over the timetable for the event. Answer any questions or concerns they may have.
11am to 12pmThis hour is spent updating this month’s enewsletter to send out to current clients. Some of the articles I will be working on will be sharing tips on designing business cards.
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pmReview press releases for a current client and what media sources the press releases should be sent to. Also dicuss the timeframe for sending them out.
2pm to 3pmMeet with potential client to discuss a special event they are considering doing for their business. Discussing what kind of budget they are working with.
3pm to 4pmMeet with current client who would like to do a media kit. Showing the client various types of media kits and what type and style would work best for their business.
4pm to 5pmMeet with current client to go over press releases. Discuss with client the media sources to send their press releases to. Also discussing a time table for sending them out.
5pm to 6pmDinner with a client to finalize their marketing plan for their new business
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I saw an article in a woman’s magazine about start up businesses that you can do under $5,000 and even planner was listed and it intrigued me to find out more

What was the application process?
there was no application process I had to come up with a business plan

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
To get clients I had to interview with them to see if we could work together and also to assess their business needs

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What type of events can or do you plan, what is the cost? What kind of publicity would you suggest doing for the event.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because it was up to me to get the training that I needed

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I took a course in event planning, worked as a wedding consultant, was a volunteer for many nonprofits.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, especially my degree in communications for I am able to use all kinds of communications in my current position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they register for a course at their loca community college.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
compassion, patience, be detailed oriented, love dealing with people and planning events.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
you need to have some experience, I personally have a degree in business and an MBA

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient for it is slow going when you first start your own business.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes

What are your current career goals?
I would like to expand my business and be able to hire a staff to work under me.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Consultant10 years32000Assist small businesses with their marketing needs and event planning needs.
Prior Job 2Instructor10 years1200Designed and implemented enrichment classes for the adults in the community.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Albertus Magnus collegeBusiness/communications – BA in liberal Arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.9Quinnpiac UniversityMaster of Business Administration

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.