Office Manager (Female, Age 49) in Canton, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 49 who works as a Office Manager in Canton, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCanton, OH
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Insurance brokerage firm with approximately 15 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Duties include managing the office by delegating workload and making sure tasks are completed in a timely manner. Also includes making sure the employees are handling customer service appropriately. Basically running the office completely.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Retitement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it entails working with offers something I enjoy

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office is comfortably decorated. Was just redone recently with a lot of input from me so I love it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrived at work and checked “in” box. Decided what projects or assignments I was going to do myself and what projects would be delegated to other employees.
8am to 9amwent on internet to check emails. Had a meeting with the other employees that I’m responsible for to let them know what projects were received and what projects they would be responsible for. Also took this time to take any questions or problems anyone wanted to discuss in a group setting.
9am to 10amcustomer service issues. Handled these by making phones calls to clients and phone calls to several insurance providers in an attempt to solve any claims or coverage issues. Also had an employee with me in training and answered any questions she had.
10am to 11amcustomer service issues. Continued to work on these issues. There were numerous claim issues that needed to be resolved. These were basically claims that had not bben paid properly or claims that were not paid at all but should’ve been. Completed several of these issues and still continued to train the new employee.
11am to 12pmDid billing to customer’s. This includes billing for hours spent on their issues above and beyond. Also completed the check and balance system we ahve in place to make sure the bills that are being distributed by the insurance companies are accurate.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmbilling continued to do billing and let the new employee sit in on a training session for this. Made several phione calls to insurance companies to resolve any billing difference issues. Let the trainee try to do billing and answered any questions. Alsao made several phone calls to prospective customers to see if they were interested in obtaining insurance from us.
2pm to 3pmbilling continued to do billing since it is sometimes a several day process. It took lomger this time since there was an employee training on the procedures. During this time I also answered questions from other employees and had to stop billing to solve a disgruntled client issue. Then the trainee and I continued to work on the billing.
3pm to 4pmbilling was still being worked on and will continue to be worked on since there are some out of balance issues. I let the trainee try to find the out of balance on her own and answered phone calls from customers that are interested in in purchasing insurance. The out of balance issue wasn’t resolved and will have to be look at tomorrow. Made sure the other employees were okay with their assignments.
4pm to 5pmtied up loose ends and organized schedule for next day. My boss is out of town so I had to check his messages and resolve any outstanding issues. Also had to handle an employee situation between 2 employees by meeting with them and trying to resolve their issue. Took sevearal phone calls. Had aa appointment (personal) so I had to leave.
5pm to 6pmappointment and then home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referrsl

What was the application process?
submitted application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes…interviewed with a panel of supervisors from within the company

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
too many to remember. The usual….what would you do in such and such a situation

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes put me in the position and offered help when I needed it

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I didn’t have too much training. It was more of a learn as you go type experience

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes because you have to have some skills to have this job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get an education in business management

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
People skilss and the ability to handle diverse situations

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes…on the job training is invaluable

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Expect to be changing constantly and expect no everyone you supervise to like you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes because it is my career

What are your current career goals?
To get customer service calls down to a minimum

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nothing I can think of

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Supervisor14 years25000Supervisor of finance department
Prior Job 2Teller5 years17000Handling banking transactions

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Stark StateBusiness Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.