Night Auditor / Manager On Duty (Male, Age 43) in NORTH HAVEN, CT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 43 who works as a Night Auditor / Manager On Duty in NORTH HAVEN, CT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNight Auditor / Manager On Duty
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNORTH HAVEN, CT
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
18 employees work at this hotel , 4 front desk 1 manager housekeepers and maintenance workers also.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I currently work for a hotel with 100 rooms , I check in guests and make sure the days work is correct and then run an audit to compile all days revenue to zero out and start a new day.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401 k fsa

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
no I think I could make more.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I usually work by myself sometimes I do train individuals for the position

. One thing I dislike is when I am working another shift and Manager calls to find out how many rooms we have sold and then calls me back in 30 minutes and asks me again.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I was really trying to get into the travel industry but ended up at a Hotel.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was working at a Gas Station and one of the persons I had worked with came into the Gas Station I was working at and told me to come down and fill out an application at the Hotel.

What was the application process?
Paper Application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Individual interview. It took maybe about 30 minutes and a few weeks of waiting before I got the Job .

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Their were a few questions about Job History and a few other questions. One question was if you had Reliable transportation to work .

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I was taught all aspects of the job and different scenarios about different things that can happen . Room moves .

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there was informal training How to do the check-in proses how to charge the Credit cards how to do the daily numbers . But now the proses is a lot easier with computers. When I started we had a ledger that we kept track of on daily basis and had to add and subtract the new balances from the old balances .

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No I had a general education but also went to college but wanted to do other stuff in college wanted to learn different aspects of college but they put you in these classes at these times and wasted many hours trying to learn.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I’ts not a hard job but you have to deal with people who demand of you . If you can’t stand demands and people don’t work for a Hotel.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be able to listen to details of what the guest wants . If they want Non-smoking they want non smoking. They need extra towels and also be prepared of what restaurants are in the area !!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No you don’t need any specific training they train you as you progress through the company .

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To keep focused on the needs of the customer . The customer is always right .

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I plan on staying with the current job for as long as I am able .

What are your current career goals?
I eventually want to become a manager where I can oversee My own property in the future .

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My view points changed 3 years ago when an attempted robbery went wrong and I was Shot in both my legs. I still came back to work but deal with pain on daily basis. My knees are not like they use to be .I had to learn how to walk again and have faith in god ..

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1CASHIER3 YEARSNOT SUREWork as a cashier for a department store that is no longer in business . I was part time and worked from 6pm – 10 pm and then went to other job from 11pm to 7 am.
Prior Job 2Night Clerk3 yearsNot SureRang register for Gas Station worked the 11 pm till 7 am shift. Worked full time and had 2 nights off per week .

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/aGateway TechGENERAL
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.