State Tested Nursing Aide 

(Female, Age 33) from tiffin, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a State Tested Nursing Aide in tiffin, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title State Tested Nursing Aide
Salary $15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 54
Company Size (not answered)
Location tiffin, NY
Years Experience 12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for volunteers of Americas autumnwood care center in tiffin ohio. I work third shift at this job. its a 110 bed facility. I also work for custom staffing in Findlay ohio doing home health and I have a person who pays me privately to sit with them during the day

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I care for alzheimers and dementia patients. im on a hallway with about 20 residents usually. they are up a lot during the night, I have to make sure all their basic needs are met and keep them from falling or getting hurt

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
retirement plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am 10pm, I walk down the hall going into each of the 12 rooms, each with one or two people in it. I make sure they are comfortable and dry in their beds. if they want a snack or an extra blanket I get it for them. I try to quiet things down by turning off tvs and lights.
10am to 11am 11pm I do some charting on the computer. I will go get linens and supplies I may need
11am to 12pm 12am I pass out supplies to each room that needs them, I pass linens for myself and for the next shift. I do any side duties, such as scrubbing down wheelchairs or cleaning out the refrigerator
12pm to 1pm 1am I do my first big bed check. if the resident is incontinent I have to change them while they are in their bed. its a lot of heavy rolling and pulling and pushing. if they need repositioned I do that. If they are continent I will wake them up and tell them to use the bathroom.
1pm to 2pm 2am is break time. I get a half hour. then when I come back I get out peoples clothes for the next morning and get some more charting done on the computer.
2pm to 3pm 3am there is usually a resident or two acting up. screaming for no reason or up wandering all over the place, if its their bath day I will give them a nice bubble bath to hopefully relax and calm them down. or I will just get them dressed in daytime clothes. usually getting cleaned up settles them down some and they will rest for the last few hours of the shift
3pm to 4pm 4am I start my last bed check. I change them again if needed and I also start getting people dressed as thy ask, or as they get up to go to the bathroom.
4pm to 5pm 5am I am still getting people ready for the day and getting baths done. anything I can get done to help out the next shift I do
5pm to 6pm 6am till 630am I give report to the next shift. I let them know who is up and dressed and who did what during the night. I take out my trash and empty the barrel of dirty clothes and linens from the night. I then do the last bit of computer work and go home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.