Home Health Aide (Female, Age 38) in grand prairie, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Home Health Aide in grand prairie, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHome Health Aide
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week33
Company Size(not answered)
Locationgrand prairie, TX
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
about 300 people ar eemployed , send snurses out to homes to help with chores and cooking to disabled people

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
cooking bathing dressing, driving to run errands

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
average could always be more money

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with people and love my job.helping others and getting paid is always good

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
a persons home

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amget up and shower and drink coffee
8am to 9amleave for work
9am to 10amarrive at work and say good morning to client start breakfast for client
10am to 11amclean up house sweep vaccuum, wash laundry check for any appointments or groceries needed
11am to 12pmmake lunch clean up after lunch
12pm to 1pmclient takes nap, i leave to go groceriey shopping
1pm to 2pmarrive back from errands put grocieres away
2pm to 3pmawake client make snack have conversation with clients and have them do small exercise
3pm to 4pmfinish cleaning, start to prepare dinner, check clients blood pressure and temp
4pm to 5pmleave for day
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
interenet

What was the application process?
apply referrences,

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes 1 interview the manager interviewed me, individual intereview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
where i worked , my experience, if i enjpyed people,

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, they always check and double check everything

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
it was on the job training from years ago

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, its more something everyone is capable of , its more about being caring

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
call an agency and see what they have

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
to get along with people and be compassionate and trustworthy caring responsible

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
try it, you might fall in love with it, its about caring for other people

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, just a job, i will start a business one day

What are your current career goals?
to start a business of exports

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
its a great fullfilling career, that most anyone of anyage and apptitude can do

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1home aide5 years9.00 hourfeed, clothe bath pateint, light cleaning and cooking, run errands in car
Prior Job 2home aide8 years13.00 hourfeed, clothe bath pateint, light cleaning and cooking, run errands in car

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.