Data Analyst (Female, Age 43) in Crawfordsville, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a Data Analyst in Crawfordsville, IN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleData Analyst
Salary$44,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCrawfordsville, IN
Years Experience11 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Fortune 500 manufacturing company with international locations.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Quality assurance and control, system administration and data analysis of quality issues. I also provide training for auditors and quality software. Travel to other locations within North America to audit, mostly in the US.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 weeks vacation , 3 occurences of sick pay per year, PPO health insurance as well as a matching 401k and company retirement plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Somewhat underpaid for the level of responsibility

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I interact with others at all levels on a daily basis. I audit, conduct root cause meetings, support, training, and provide reports to management. I enjoy that part of my job for the most part.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office in a manufacturing facility. It is convenient for issues and resources. It also allows people to find me if they need to contact me. Occasionally I will work for home if I have a need during vacation. A couple of times a year I travel to other locations as well.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrived at work around 7:30 am. Turned on computer and checked email. Responded to one critical email from my boss on a customer report he needed. Then checked voice-mail. Returned two critical calls before my 8:00 am meeting, one for a monthly report and one for a project.
8am to 9amI participate in a weekly quality control team as a member. Had a quality control meeting that lasted for one hour. Discussed a couple of big quality issues that effect profit on those jobs and possible resolutions.
9am to 10amI had several reports due today. Finished the customer report up and two additional area specific quality reports. To do these, I dump the data in Excel and create charts. Sent these out via email to management.
10am to 11amHad a meeting at 10 with a management person who needed help on a couple of documents requiring root cause analysis. After we were finished we talked about a new quality team forming and what my role in that would be. Stopped in manufacturing where we just implemented a new process to see how they were adjusting.
11am to 12pmChecked voice-mail and email when I arrived back at the office. Had a request for a report from last year that I sent out to a manager as well as a question on how to enter a document. Called the person back and walked them through the process.
12pm to 1pmLUNCH – Bank and license branch.
1pm to 2pmWorked on another report that I was missing information on. Called the manager who provides it to me and he was out. Have to wait until Monday to finish that one. Also talked to the accounting area on discrepancies on a report I use.
2pm to 3pmMy boss stops by and thanks me for helping some folks at another location with a reporting tool. Then asks me to pull data for another project scheduled to start early next week. After he leaves I start pulling the data out of the system, checking the cost related to make sure it is accurate, and printed out information I need to follow up with other people on Monday.
3pm to 4pmHad an impromptu meeting before one of my co-workers left concerning a standing Tuesday meeting we have and what reports we need for the meeting. Answered a couple of questions via e-mail concerning the early area specific reports I sent out earlier in the day.
4pm to 5pmPrinted out my schedule for next week, which has 6 meetings and one conference call. Sent out a couple of requests for additional information needed for root cause analysis. Finished out my day by trying to finish my last report for the week. Logged out of my computer and went home at 4:45.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
The current job was posted online at the company where I work.

What was the application process?
Applied online with a submitted resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I did have to interview. One interview only and it was a group interview with three members of management.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
This was an interview where they would ask a general question like ‘ have you ever had an issue with a coworker?’. The response they wanted was the situation, an action and the result of your action.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
For the most part I feel I have been given skills to succeed in my job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I did receive training. Six Sigma, Lead Auditor, and Facilitator training was received as well as computer classes and a writing workshop class.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
15 years working at the company helped to prepare me for additional responsibility. I held several positions as I worked my way up to my current position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would tell them they have two choices, get a degree with a background in quality or work their way up to a position within a company, which is what I did.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Strong background in Microsoft Office, especially Excel would be the first skill. Time management as well as Lead Auditor training and Six Sigma training would be additional skills to have. You have to have an outgoing personality and not be shy about getting up in front of a room full of management personnel.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, definitely need education and/or training to be successful.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Ask as many questions as you need to until you understand a process or project. Always ask when it needs to be completed by. Learn to prioritize based on when needed and how critical it is.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I would like to step up into the next level of quality management. More training and experience would allow me this opportunity.

What are your current career goals?
Quality management would be my next level up. I would also like to teach more training classes around quality and quality software.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy my job for the most part. There are ups and downs in every job. It is what you do during those periods that sets you apart from others and determines if you are a leader.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales6 months8000Working in sales at a small kiosk in a mall.
Prior Job 2Restaurant1 1/2 years10000Cashier , food prep , register balance and cleaning.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.1

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.