Registered Nurse (Female, Age 49) in Cottage Grove, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 49 who works as a Registered Nurse in Cottage Grove, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Registered Nurse
Salary $87,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Cottage Grove, NY
Years Experience 11 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a multiple hospital Healthcare organization in a major City of MN. This organization has >2000 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
provide direct care, give medications & manage their care while they are hospitalized for various illnesses.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, Pension plan, 140 weeks of vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated for the amount of care & management of an ill patient in the hospital & skills needed to manage technology, equipment & physical care a person needs.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a variety of people every day..Dependent on the type of interaction & negative attitudes

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an acute care hospital setting. The ergonomics of where I document & use the computer & height of rolling chairs are poor.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am get to staffing office to find out the unit I am working at, report to that unit, get my assignment, info about my patients & start prioritizing my day.
8am to 9am Assess my patients, start giving meds, give nursing aides I am working with report.
9am to 10am Morning break, finish meds & assessments. Start looking @ charts for lab follow up, new orders, start calling Doctors as needed.
10am to 11am start morning documentation, interact with pts at least hourly & update physicians as needed
11am to 12pm start meds for lunch, help pt’s eat, get right food,
12pm to 1pm lunch break, gather information for afternoon documentation
1pm to 2pm Finish meds for day, gather intake & output information, follow up & resolve patient related issues & start gathering information for shift report.
2pm to 3pm continue to gather shift report information, clear IV pumps & document Give report to oncoming shift Nurse.
3pm to 4pm finish day, shift ends @ 3:30pm
4pm to 5pm I am home, review mail & start supper
5pm to 6pm homework with son, read emails
6pm to 7pm start son’s bedtime routine
7pm to 8pm start getting lunch & uniform ready for next day, get son’s backpack ready for am
8pm to 9pm I wind down to get ready for bed
9pm to 10pm I get to bed
10pm to 11pm sleeping hopefully
11pm to 12am sleeping

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My younger sister worked at the hospital I now work at & encouraged me to apply.

What was the application process?
filled out a paper application, submitted in person to Human Resources & waited for a call from HR/Manager for an interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. I met with my current Manager initially for a different position than i currently have now.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember. Probably my skill level & experiences as an RN

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I just needed to know how each unit ran & specifics for the day/night shifts I would have been working & the equipment I would be working with.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I oriented with another RN to all the units I would be floating to between the 3 hospitals within the organization I work for.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I am a 2 yr RN with then 12 yrs experience as an RN with previous hospital and supervisory experience.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First you need a Nursing degree, either Associates in Nursing or Bachelors Degree in Nursing. Then you apply on the system web site.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good positive people interaction skills, willingness to learn & be respectful. Have good common sense & be able to trouble shoot difficult situations based on knowlege. Using resources available is a good skill to know.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Minimum Associates Degree in Nursing.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be willing to accept that you do not know everything. If you think you do know everything, you’d probably kill a patient.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. I am happy doing what I am doing right now.

What are your current career goals?
Eventually I’d like to teach to Nursing STudents.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
long hallways & standing too long to chart is exhausting.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Registered Nurse 11 yrs 85000 STaff RN
Prior Job 2 Assistant Director of Nursing 8 yrs 45000 Staff R, Care plan coordinator, Assessment Documentation Coordinator & anything directed by the Director of Nursing

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6 Inver Hills Community college Associate Science Degree in Nursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.