Third Grade Bilingual Teacher (Female, Age 37) in Sacramento, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Third Grade Bilingual Teacher in Sacramento, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleThird Grade Bilingual Teacher
Salary$53,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSacramento, CA
Years Experience11 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a public elementary charter school. We have a two way Spanish immersion program from kindergarten through 8th grade. We have 16 teachers, one principal, and several support and administrative staff. We server almost 200 students in our school.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Teaching Reading, Writing, Math, Social Studies, Science, Art, and other subject in Spanish and English to 20 third grade students. Assess students according to the CA academic standards, attend weekly meetings, attend professional development training, collaborate with grade level members to plan and implement lesson plans. Communite with parents as needed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 days sick/personal, HMO full covered health insurance, STRS retirement plan. 10 weeks summer vacation.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated for this kind of work.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with other staff members on a daily basis. I enjoy working as a team to achieve the goals we have set up for our students. I enjoy learning from fellow teachers and learning from each other. Most of my day is spent with the students but I meet with other teachers and especially my partner teacher severals times a week.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at school at 6:45. Open windows, empty my rolling cart of my lunch box, and any work I had brought from home. Check my emails, print any documents that I have emailed from home. Go to the copy room to make any copies needed for the day. Review math lesson for the day. Place the day’s homework pages in students’ mailboxes. Fill out any paperwork that needs to be done. Go again to the copy room to pick up attendance and make any last minute copies. Student teacher arrives at 7:30. Explain to her any last minute updated. Talk about the previous days events: what did the kids do, how are they progressing in math, reading, etc. Clean table of any clutter. Open door at 8am and greet students as they walk in.
8am to 9amRemind students to place homework in homework bins, remind students to turn over their attendance card. Check math homework with students. Deliver math lesson for the day in Spanish.
9am to 10amContinue math lesson until 9:15. Switch to Spanish Language Arts. Deliver language arts lessons from 9:15 until 10:25. This includes, vocabulary, grammar, and reading and writing.
10am to 11amContinue language arts until 10:25. Recess from 10:25-10:40. Students stay in if they have not brought homework or owe time for other reasons. At 10:40 I teach English Language Development until 11:10
11am to 12pmTeach English Language development (oral English with beginning English speakers) until 11:10. Teach English Language Arts (reading and writing) until 12:10.
12pm to 1pmTeach English Language Arts until 12:10. Spanish class start againg. Read a read aloud chapter book to the class until 12:30. Walk student to the cafeteria for lunch. Back to my room by 12:35. Eat lunch until 1:15
1pm to 2pmLunch until 1:15. Clean, organize, last minute preparation during lunch time. 1:15 students come in and read silently their chapter book for 15 minutes. Students meet with the groups to read and discuss the books they are reading. I circulate around the room to make sure everyone is working. 1:45 Science. teach science lesson
2pm to 3pm2:20 students get their agendas and write their homework. I ask students to get their homework and line up at the door. I walk students to the front of the school and wait until most have been picked up. At 2:45 I’m back in my room. I clean any papers lying around. I clear my overhead projector, prepare the next day’s lessons.
3pm to 4pmOn Thursdays I have staff meetings to attend. If I don’t have meeting I get prepared for the next week or talk to my partner to articulate about our plans for the week/month/unit.
4pm to 5pmLeave work at 4pm.
5pm to 6pmAt home cooking dinner.
6pm to 7pmPlaying with my daughter.
7pm to 8pmAt home.
8pm to 9pmWork at home, check emails, correct tests, create worksheets, tables, etc.
9pm to 10pmAt home
10pm to 11pmAt home.
11pm to 12amAt home, sleeping.

How you got your job

#NAME?

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I was part of a group of teachers who wanted to create an independent charter school to be able to server our student population, without the constraints imposed by the school district. We succeeded in creating our school and are now working extremely hard to fulfill our commitment to our community to have a high performing bilingual school.

What are your current career goals?
Keep teaching as a classroom teacher. Finish my master degree (thesis needs to be written).

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I absolutely love being a teacher. I usually work 9 hour days at school and an hour or two at home, but it is all worth it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teacher3 years40000Kindergarten Teacher
Prior Job 2Teacher4 years37000Kindergarten teacher

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8SUNY at Stony BrookBA Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4Sacramento StateIncomplete Masters Multicultural Education

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.