Accountant (Female, Age 35) in TAYLOR, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Accountant in TAYLOR, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAccountant
Salary$52,800
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationTAYLOR, NY
Years Experience11 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small accounting firm. We prepare taxes, audits, compilations and reviews. We also do consulting work as well.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I answer phones, make calls to collect accounts receivables, prepare IRS tax forms 1040, 990, 1120 and 1120S. Perform audits for profit and non-profit organization with revenues of a million dollars.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Prior years I was very under paid. Gross receipts was 13500 a year.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work alone. I love it keeps me focus on what i need to complete.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have my own office in a law firm.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Word of mouth helped me get this job.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and cover letter.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, One interview with the wife and husband of the business.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why I want to work there.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I was properly prepared for my job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training just be prepared to use your brain and analytical skills to think and solve problems.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes my education helped a lot in my field of work.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have an intern. I do suggest one for new graduates.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a degree in accounting, get a master in leadership and get your CPA.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization skills, communication skills, and can count.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes it requires analytical thinking.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Sometimes its boring but working in the field is very exciting. Going new places, seeing new things, eating at new resturants.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, because its helping gain work experience so that I can sit for the CPA exam in October /2013

What are your current career goals?
To become a Certified Public Accountant with a CFO position at a non-profit organization.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
be prepared to count a lot of numbers.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Volunteer5 months0Headstart Program
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5Ferris StateAccounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5Central Michigan UniversityLeadership

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.