Office Manager (Female, Age 40) in Sinking Spring, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Office Manager in Sinking Spring, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSinking Spring, PA
Years Experience11 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
HVAC company, we have 15 employees and we service mostly industrial corporations

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
accounts receivable, accounts payable, IT manager

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
We have a very laid back office, casual attire. We also have 3 dogs and 2 cats that grace our presence

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, I like the casual atmosphere

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amdriving to work
8am to 9amCheck business email, return phone calls
9am to 10amEnter invoices, write checks
10am to 11amrun reports
11am to 12pmlunch hour
12pm to 1pmcheck mail, enter checks
1pm to 2pmenter deposits
2pm to 3pmwrite up schedule for workers and collect time cards
3pm to 4pmfinish tasks left over and prepare for the next day
4pm to 5pmhead home
5pm to 6pmn/a
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
make an appointment for an interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. Just talking and going over qualifications and family life

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
cannot remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, explained everything in detail

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
High school courses

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat. You really aren’t prepared until you actually start a job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be yourself

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good typing skills, good phone and communication skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be detail oriented

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I guess, have been here so long

What are your current career goals?
to retire

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Manager11 years12.50 hourOffice manager
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.