Lead Teacher 

(Female, Age 39) from Chaffee, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Lead Teacher in Chaffee, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Lead Teacher
Salary $38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Chaffee, NY
Years Experience 11 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Corporate sponsored accredited childcare center. About 22 employees and 60 children.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Full care and education of infant children as well as safety committee.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vac., 2 weeks sick time, Aetna ins., Mass Mutual 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes..both. Dislike the poor values and work ethic of co workers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Bank..works fine.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
resume, interview, hired

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes interviewed with director and associate director

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Child care related

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, already had experience.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Nanny, student teaching, College

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, good college education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get an education, love children.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Enjoy children, good organization, patience, understanding, get messy, positive reinforcement, good listener

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes..college education.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Enjoy children and have a lot of patience.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes..have been there 11 1/2 years and there is no reason to change.

What are your current career goals?
To continue what i am doing

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 teacher 3 yr 23000 Full care and education of toddlers.
Prior Job 2 maanager 12 yrs 32000 Managerial duties, banking, payroll, records

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6 Erie Community College Early Childhood Ed
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.