CPA And CEO (Female, Age 45) in Olympia Fields, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a CPA And CEO in Olympia Fields, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCPA And CEO
Salary$90,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOlympia Fields, IL
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am the CFO for a non-profit youth development corporation (New Concepts Tutor Mentor Connection) that works with students in the Gear UP program of schools within the Chicago Public School system our budget is around 400,000 a year. I am also an owner of a Residential & Commercial Cleaning business, J&J Cleaning Pros, Inc

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Accounting (AP,AR, bank deposits, Financial Statement preparation tax preparation and filings) Online marketing, staff field jobs for the cleaning business.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401 K no set vacation or sick leave take it as I want or need it

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated for the size of the business

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with others a few days a week. It is good to work with others sometimes since I also have to spend many hours at the computer alone. I like to work independent most of the time

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Since I am a 50% owner of a business I have to work closely with the other owner. I consider my employees my co-workers

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amRead all incoming email from the previous evening and night and printout all emails related to request for quotes to provide services. Read and respond to any current client email request or updates.
8am to 9amContinue withe reading and respond to any current client email request or updates. Respond to some email inquiries for quotes by requesting more information from sender or give a quote to sender by email. Text contact info to field director from email senders needing to be called for follow-up
9am to 10amReport to job siie to help with completing any work needed to be done on site
10am to 11amReport to job siie to help with completing any work needed to be done on site. Follow-up with Field director
11am to 12pm Follow-up with Field director regarding schedule for the day and week,also any quotes that have been given out by phone so far today.
12pm to 1pmHave lunch with field director and discuss business follow-up of outstanding issues related to company such as cash on hand in bank and upcoming expenses that need to be paid.
1pm to 2pmGo to a new job site and help with work and hear about any problem encountered today.
2pm to 3pmStay for completion of work started last hour.
3pm to 4pmRun company errands such supply purchase and mail pickup from post office. Look over the mail for checks and any mail needing follow-up and pull aside from the other mail.
4pm to 5pmReturn to office and check email for new email request for quotes and respond to any that a quick response is ok for. Prepare bank deposits. Go to bank and make deposits.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pmReview online marketing status for any changes needed to advertising and follow with-up with accounting tasks such post the days deposits and file receipts for purchases of the day
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pmCheck emial for last time tonight for any respones to earlier emails I sent out
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My co-owner and I started this company after much research and discussion

What was the application process?
Had to file with the state for incorporation

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No I did not

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
It was learn by doing no one was there to train

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was no formal training for business ownership. I do go to college and study after college to become a CPA

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes it helped a lot with giving me the confidence to attempt business ownership. The University I went to taught us to be future managers and business owners

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes it did

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First go to college and finish. Make sure you have a strong background in accounting, management and marketing. Learn what motivates people to work hard and take pride in their work because it is more than money for most people

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Customer service skills, people skills in general. Work in the field of accounting, management and or marketing before starting your own business. Experience helps with the new business owner curve

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes I needed to finish college and take a very long hard test to become a CPA

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
The same advice that was given to me in an accounting class when I was a senior in college and that I give to the students that I teach in my cost accounting class, if you get the chance to work in a general accounting position doing AP,AR, and GL work take it and also learn how to do research in accounting books and Standards and staements

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I work with youth and I own my own business

What are your current career goals?
I want to grow my business and have a lot larger client base.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nothing comes to mind

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Instructor7 yearsN/ATaught accounting at a 2 year community college
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Accounting BS in Commerce
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.