Business Advisor (Male, Age 55) in Destin, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 55 who works as a Business Advisor in Destin, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBusiness Advisor
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationDestin, NY
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
50 professional people that sole purpose is Innovation or creative ideas that apply to making the business more profitable

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Being creative with new ideas based upon core business knowledge

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation 401k, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
must work with others which is necessary and difficult

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
home

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amcheck daily emails
9am to 10amcheck into system files and compare daily analysis of operation and determine any corrective step
10am to 11amwork on new proposal
11am to 12pmwork on new proposal
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmmeet with vendor on new concepts,solutions and equipment
2pm to 3pmsame as 1-2 pm
3pm to 4pmsame as 1-2 pm
4pm to 5pmfinish up with emails and updates for next day
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
resume and application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I was asked to join the group

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
can you work with certain people

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
work inside the company first in order to fully understand the business

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social, personal and creativity

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
jobexperience

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
learn all you can from others

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, retiring in 3 years

What are your current career goals?
to retire in 3 years

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1advisor10100000
Prior Job 2advisor12 yrs75000

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5U of AlabamAccounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.