Real Estate Broker (Female, Age 39) in levittown, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Real Estate Broker in levittown, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReal Estate Broker
Salary$130,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlevittown, NY
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are located in NY and over half of our business is residential resales. We also are very active in rental properties. We are trying to enter the commerical property area of NY as well

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I pursue rental and home sale leads. If I am commissioned to marker the property, I record all available info on the place and take videos & photos to advertise it. List the property on numerous web sites w/ pictures. Schedule showings of property/ market the property to best of my availity.Give feedback to owner. Run credit checks on prospects/help with mortgage pre-approvals. Hold everyones hands through the process. Advise & recommend lawyers,inspectors,mortgage brokers. Get contracts signed. Get the deal closed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
This is commission work. I am well compensated because I work very hard. You get what you give.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
During the day I can be working w/ the termite inspector, a home engineer, a lawyer, bank loan rep. or a fellow agent. Each day is different.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work through an agency, and I stop in most days. I can spend 10 minutes or 4 hours there, depending on what I need done. I also work at home. So much off my work is done on the phone, it doesn’t matter where I am.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
ad on craigs list

What was the application process?
phone call and interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
It was more of a meet & greet type thing. I chatted with the owner, gave a copy of my license and next day I set up a desk and started networking.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
It was very informal, just why I wanted real estate and my answer was I wanted to make money and work my own hours. It is not a hard field to enter. I did NOT apply to any chain type agency (c21,remax,ect), I wanted an independant, so I don’t know if they work different.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think so. They wanted me to be successful as when I made money, they did too. They always were available to answer any questions and help me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had to go to real estate school and take a test to show I knew good practices, laws and ethics. After that it was all on the job training and observing how others conducted their deals.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I really don’t think I use anything I learned in college in my job!

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
In NY you must go to a real estate school and then take the NY real estate exam. Then you have to find a real estate agency that will take you on, as you must park your license with an agency.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You have to be a people person, and communicate well. You need to learn how to be persistant without being annoying. Top skill you will need is be a good listener so you can find just what a person really is looking for.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no, you do not need any college

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Not to be discouraged and to hang in there. This is commission work and you could easily go your first nine months with no income, but then you close a deal & you can eat again! After the first deal, people start recommending you to others and you are finally off & running with a career. You have to be patient, you won’t make any money right away.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I am very happy with my current situation and plan to continue in this field.

What are your current career goals?
It might sound pathetic, but just to keep increasing my income.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that i think it’s a great career for someone to at least explore.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1accounting rep 4464000responsible for balance of small business accounts, determining correct premiums, assisting sales department on setting up plans based on small business budget
Prior Job 2accountant772000I was an accountant in a division known as “care management” that dealt with determining a patients ability to pay for services and home care. I dealt with the departments budget and approved purchases

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
suny farmingdaleeconomics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.