Teacher (Male, Age 65) in Peekskill, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 65 who works as a Teacher in Peekskill, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Peekskill, NY
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
High School with approximately 2,000 students.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Teaching students

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 months vacation 4 weeks sick leave health insurance retirement plan 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am well compensated for my current position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it involves working with others on a daily basis. I like the interaction and do not dislike anything.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
School building. I like it because it is big.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Preparation for the rest of the day. Taking notes. Getting lesson plan ready. Drinking coffee.
8am to 9am Getting everything ready. Gathering notes. Reading book. Preparing for lecture.
9am to 10am Taking attendence. Handing out assignments. Checking homework. Telling students lesson.
10am to 11am Teaching the period. Giving quiz. Handing out worksheets. Presenting slides.
11am to 12pm Teaching next period. Handing out worksheets. Doing lecture. Giving students direction.
12pm to 1pm Lunch break.
1pm to 2pm Teaching next period. Handing out graded tests. Giving lecture. Going over homework.
2pm to 3pm Taking attendence. Teaching current lesston. Giving lecture. Going over homework.
3pm to 4pm Off from work.
4pm to 5pm Off from work.
5pm to 6pm Off from work.
6pm to 7pm Off from work.
7pm to 8pm Off from work.
8pm to 9pm Off from work.
9pm to 10pm Off from work.
10pm to 11pm Off from work.
11pm to 12am Off from work.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper and referral.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and went for interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, it involved interviewing with the superintendent and principal.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What is your teaching experience and what do you know about science.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Just a few teaching courses.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes most definitely.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not really

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend them to get a complete education first.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, organization skills, and technical skills are all requirements.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be active and never give up.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because it involves teaching.

What are your current career goals?
To continue teaching.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not really.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Research 4 years 50000 Doing research.
Prior Job 2 Researcher 5 years 40000 Doing research.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 N/A Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4 N/A Physics

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.