Admission Officer 

(Female, Age 38) from Davis, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Admission Officer in Davis, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Admission Officer
Salary $85,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Davis, CA
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at the UC Davis; I review all the undergraduate applicants and decide to accept or reject them.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
During the school year, I monitor the students, and then my real job is to review applications to UC Davis.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
retirement plan, health insurance, 3 weeks paid vacations

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job is fairly individual work. I enjoy working individually because I can get my work done more expediantely.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I wake up around 6:30, take a shower, and eat bagels for breakfast.
8am to 9am It takes me about 2 hours to drive to work.
9am to 10am I get to my office around 9:30. There are usually stacks of online and in-print applications.
10am to 11am I sometimes hold a meeting with my co-workers. We discuss and review the basis of admistration.
11am to 12pm The meeting continues for about 30 more minutes. I eat lunch at noon till 1:30.
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm From 1:30 to 4 is the busiest part of my day. After lunch break, I come back to my office and start reveiwing all the applications one by one.
2pm to 3pm By “reviewing” applications, I mean that I actually read all the applicants’ essays, criteria, and qualifications individually. I seperate these applications to 3 parts: the ones who are almost guaranteed, not guaranteed, and in-betweens.
3pm to 4pm Usually, one of my other co-workers also review the applications twice before the final judgement is made. Since UC DAvis receives thousands of applications every year, there are over a hundred people working at the admistration office.
4pm to 5pm This is towards the end of my day. After about 100 applications are reviewed, the co workers once again hold a meeting reviewing what happened that day, etc.
5pm to 6pm I drive home from work.
6pm to 7pm dinner
7pm to 8pm relax
8pm to 9pm relax
9pm to 10pm relax
10pm to 11pm sleep
11pm to 12am sleep

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my job through referral.

What was the application process?
electronic application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to interview with past admistration officer. It was an individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What has been your past experience? What qualities would make you a good administration officer?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the training was short and brief, yet very helpful.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There were minimal training. I had to hypothetically review an application while my boss watched me.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was a substitute teacher prior to being hired in the administration office, and knowing students and their behaviors helped me review their applications as well.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
If someone wanted a job like mine, I’d recommend that he/she be patient reviewing applications and unbiased.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should be able to read essays and analyze them fluently, be very organized and precise.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
graduate college, at least.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
most important facotr in reviewing college application is to be wary of details and be unbiased.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It’s a job i had hold for 10 years and defintely plan on doing so for at least another 15 years.

What are your current career goals?
My career goal is to be the head of adminstration office.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Although arduous hours working at the office reviewing applications can be tiresome, it’s definetly rewarding at the end.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Substitute 2 years 50000 I teached jr high students as a substitute when called in.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.78

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6 Cal Poly Communication
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.