Owner (Female, Age 59) in Scottsdale, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 59 who works as a Owner in Scottsdale, AZ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week80
Company Size(not answered)
LocationScottsdale, AZ
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
R & P Development is a real estate pruchasing and leasing firm. It is lkocated in Scottsdale Arizona and utilizes investors and real estate sales.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Bobbkeeping and management of business funds

Leasing and cfare of rental properties

Buying and selling of investment p;roperties

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
no vacation or sick days and covered by health insurance and 401 K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Due to recession, sales are less

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like the constant changing of business. The interaction with people is rewarding

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home office. Saves money, but is confining

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 0
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Started my own nbusiness

What was the application process?
Owner

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
No

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I learned the real estate laws in arizona and went to numerous seminars and conferences.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training included working with mentors and professionals in the real estate field

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes. It helped me to develop skills needs to sell and close a deal.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Intenship with several contracotrs and education in rel estate. A college degree in business would be useful

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills and sales skills are very important., The ability to close a sale or interest an investor

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, some college

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Go to college and study business. Take real estate classes and business classes.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Owner. No reason to change

What are your current career goals?
Stay in current field

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Hope the recession ends soon.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1RN2050RN degree and worked in a hospital.
Prior Job 2RN3 years30000Reponsibilities of an Rn in a hospital

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.oASUNursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N?S

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.