Child Care Provider Services Owner (Female, Age 44) in Belleville, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a Child Care Provider Services Owner in Belleville, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleChild Care Provider Services Owner
Salary$75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBelleville, NY
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a company with 9 employees. We provide childcare services and tutoring services for our area.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
As owner, my duties are overlooking employees and make sure the children are well cared for. The needs are met of the children, employees, and the business duties in general.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation 1 week sick leave, blue cross/blue shield health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
It certainly does. I love working with people, especially children and other employees that love what we do. It is a pleasant work environment and it makes us also feel like we are doing something worthwhile in the community.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
The business started as a home business and expanded into another location.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 9
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStart welcoming the first parents and children myself. Getting everyone settled in.
8am to 9amThe employees come in.

The rest of the parents and children arrive.

Talk about any special instructions needed by parents for their children.

Have breakfast ready

9am to 10amPlaytime for children, look after their needs.
10am to 11amUsually reading time, naptime for small children

playtime and learning

11am to 12pmstart making lunch
12pm to 1pmmake sure everyone is fed lunch
1pm to 2pmlook after children, keep them engaged,

small children are involved in their age-specific learning guides.

2pm to 3pmget ready for the children that come after school
3pm to 4pmwelcome the after school children and get them settled in. Have conversation to see how everyone is doing.

Get snacks

4pm to 5pmhomework for after school children

tutoring for those who need it.

Clean-up

5pm to 6pmPick up of children by parents

Tell parents of the day(any problems or milestones)

Clean-up

employees leave

6pm to 7pmpick up of the rest of children by parents

Tell parents of the day(any problems or milestones)

7pm to 8pmlogging of the children of the day, billing, payroll
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
saw a need in my community and started myself

What was the application process?
none

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
N/A

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really, I did have experience working with another daycare before. I did everything from changing diapers, cleanup, play time with the small children to help older children with homework and play games. Help in making sure the area was well maintained.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I do. It helped in expanding my business. I had been prepared for the business aspect of it.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start small, start in-home if you have one and get all the permits you need. If you don’t have a location to work out of, then go to your local child care center and ask if they need help.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You have to love working with children and love education. You have to have a patient, pleasant personality.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not necessarily, but earning a college degree in education is helpful. Prior experience and love of the job is imperitive.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You must be flexible and patient. It’s not as easy as it looks. If you enjoy children and can create a relaxed atmosphere that is condusive to a good environment for children to learn and enjoy the time they are with you, you may be right for this position.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This is my career plan. I really love it and get to know amazing people. It is rewarding knowing you are doing something that is needed.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to expand further, because there is a need for it. That would not be for a few more years.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I would encourage others to get into it if they have the right disposition.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1employee2 years10000caring for children, assisting
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3FelicianBusiness Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.