Office Manager (Female, Age 34) in san diego, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Office Manager in san diego, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationsan diego, CA
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The firm I work for provides personal service and prepares individual income taxes.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
General office management and customer service.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do work with others on a daily basis and like my job

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I enjoy my office environment

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10ambusiness meeting for team, what work to do this week.
10am to 11amwork on computer and checking emails
11am to 12pmworking on computer and checking and testing quality assurance.
12pm to 1pmlunch hour
1pm to 2pmcontinue working and testing for quality including typos and grammar.
2pm to 3pmafternoon business meeting with team members
3pm to 4pmchecking and replying to emails
4pm to 5pmplanning what to do for the next days work and preparing for the end of they work day
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was referred by a friend that worked at the company

What was the application process?
I submitted my application including a background check and interviewed with four supervisors

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I interviewed with four different supervisors one on one

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I think the questions were standard interview questions

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I knew what the job requirements were and what the job entailed

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I did education training and continue it annually

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes my education background was in the accounting field

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
they could get the required education and apply for a job

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
they need to have a degree in accounting or business, social skills need to be able to work well with others, technical include computer skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
absolutely need education and continued training

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would advise them to get a good education in accounting and have a love for the job

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I planned on a job in the accounting field

What are your current career goals?
My goals are to be happy and satisfied and to do a good job

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy working in my career field

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.