Postal Carrier 

(Female, Age 58) from Venice, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 58 who works as a Postal Carrier in Venice, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Postal Carrier
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Venice, CA
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
United States Government Post Office, large deliver mail

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Deliver mail to business and residential

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacations, 12 days sick leave, Kaiser, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I enjoy working with the public, I also enjly working with my colleques

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in the Office, but sometimes I go out in the field to check my employees, I like working outside more than the Office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 7

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, their were about three interviews, manager, then supervisor whom I ended up working with, they were all individual

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
No I can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, you are trained thoroughly

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I went to college for three years, and I passed the Civil Service Test

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, only on-the-job training

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You have to take a test, they put you on a list, then you interview

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organiztion skkill, you have to manage your time, and you have to deliver the mail in a timely manner, Social skills: you have to like and get along with the public

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, High School Diploma

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take the test, study before, their are online sample tests, the test is not easy

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I’ve been here long enough, will retire her

What are your current career goals?
To retire with full benefits

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Yes we are currently on furlough

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 CSULB Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.