Biological Science Tech (Male, Age 40) in progreso, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 40 who works as a Biological Science Tech in progreso, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBiological Science Tech
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationprogreso, TX
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
united states department of agriculture

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
agricultural research. help design research projects, collect data, statistical analysis

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, retirement plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i have 2 underlings. while i enjoy there company and need there help, there was no additional pay for having to supervise them

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am6.30am till 7.30am : get truck ready to go to work site, load tools, waterjugs, anything we may need. and check email 7.30 till 9am drive to site
8am to 9amdrive
9am to 10amfind a suitible site to collect data. take measurements, etc.
10am to 11am10am till 10.30 look for another suitible site. 10.30 till 11.30 take measurements, etc.
11am to 12pm11.30 till 12.00 lunch
12pm to 1pm12.00 till 12.30 look for another suitible site. 12.30 till 1.30 take measurements.
1pm to 2pm1.30 till 3.00 drive back to lab
2pm to 3pmdrive.
3pm to 4pm3.00 till 3.30 check email, report progress. go home
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
started as a workstudy while still in college

What was the application process?
mine was paper, but now its all online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no, i did not interview for my job, i started as a work-study and bounced around from project to project as they need help (my skills were unimportant)

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, they had no idea what i could do and basiclly made myself indespensible.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
i have a bs in math/stats

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no and yes, i do the statistical annalysis

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no, all i did during my internship (workstudy) was grunt work.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to usajobs.gov

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
degree in any scientific field.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
learn to play the game, filing the right paperwork and kissing the right asses seems to be the only way to get ahead.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes/no, yes in that ive been there 10 yrs, no because id leave if something better came up.

What are your current career goals?
i might go back to grad school.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
the center generates an atomosphere of mediocracy, in that good work is not rewarded, so most of us do the minimum necessary to stay in good standing.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
utpabs
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.