(Female, Age 40) from Petal, MS

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Accountant in Petal, MS. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accountant
Salary $38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Petal, MS
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a well known construction company specializing in building homes to suit the customers needs . We work in framing, sheet metal to plumbing and fixtures . Our company employees approximately 75 people and is a for profit organization.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am in charge of all accounting payable & recieving, I also manage booking jobs and ordering materials needed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes my job entails me working with many people throughout my day employees along with customers. I enjoy doing this job gives me a chance to meet people which helps my day to go by faster.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work on site in a office trailer, I would much rather be working in an office but that wouldn’t be suffice with the company i work for.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrived at the job site
8am to 9am Prepared all necessary paper work along with job sites to be bid on.
9am to 10am took a break
10am to 11am Drove out to job site to pick up papers that were signed for future work
11am to 12pm answered phones, worked on the payroll
12pm to 1pm took my lunch
1pm to 2pm answered phones, finished up payroll
2pm to 3pm drove to job sites to deliver checks to foreman on site
3pm to 4pm closed up books and cleaned work area up.
4pm to 5pm left work for the day
5pm to 6pm n/a
6pm to 7pm n/a
7pm to 8pm n/a
8pm to 9pm n/a
9pm to 10pm n/a
10pm to 11pm n/a
11pm to 12am n/a

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Paper Application along with a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had just one initial interview with the Head contractor

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked if i was willing to travel

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Very much so I don’t think i would have gotten as far as i did had they not prepared me to take on the task that I do .

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had some classes through a community college but did not finish , I was also trained for about 2 weeks with the owners wife who stood by me and showed me everything i needed to know concerning the type of business.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat it gave me the basic knowledge that i needed to get a foot in the door but most of me getting the job had to do with my willingness to learn.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Looking through the local newspaper and also taking a drive out to the site to actually meet with the crew leader in person.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Accounting , payables, receiving , computer skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
some level of education but not necessarily a degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just relax its a fun atmosphere and easy to do

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes , it was not part of my career plan in the beginning but as time went by I started to enjoy working for this company and would not leave for no amount of money.

What are your current career goals?
My career goals have already been met , I have the perfect job and this is where i will be staying until retirement.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think i’ve summed it all up.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 Delta Community College Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.