Medical Secretary 2 (Female, Age 48) in waltham, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Medical Secretary 2 in waltham, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Medical Secretary 2
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location waltham, MA
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Big medical office with about 12 drs and 4 np and 2 pc

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer phones make appts verify insurance info,refill request,triage calls

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 wks vacation,12 sick,410k and hphc for health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes and working with others gets me through the day someone to help me and to vent too and I like it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 2
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am At home
8am to 9am Arrive at 8.45 log into phones read messages for the day in regards to schedule appts and staffingi pretty much do the same thing every day all day sometimes I check and fax referrals,missing drs orders to other sites,reprint lab orders
9am to 10am Answers phones,make appts send messages
10am to 11am Answers phones make appts check messages sent back to me and call patients back
11am to 12pm Answer phones ect
12pm to 1pm Lunch for 1 hr
1pm to 2pm Check messages and answer phones
2pm to 3pm Check messages answer phone check on requested scripts,verify appts,check on add on patients
3pm to 4pm Phones
4pm to 5pm Make sure daily scripts,appts and messages are answered and answer phones until 5
5pm to 6pm Na
6pm to 7pm Na
7pm to 8pm Na
8pm to 9pm Na
9pm to 10pm Na
10pm to 11pm Na
11pm to 12am Na

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What would I do with an irate patient

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes lots of training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes computer program,customer service class,medical asst class

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I took medical assitant for 9 months

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes it taught me skills and how to work with patients

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take a medical assistant course

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Medical knowledge and customer service skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
on the job training would work

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen and always treat people the way you want to be treated

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes its what I went to school for

What are your current career goals?
Thinking of bussiness

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 medical asst 2 years 12.00 hr blood sugars injections heights weights ekgs scripts
Prior Job 2 pharm tech 1 year 10 hour Fill and enter scripts answer phones and cashier

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:na

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
aquinqs certificate
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.