Medical Records Manager (Male, Age 27) in gainesville, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Medical Records Manager in gainesville, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Records Manager
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
Locationgainesville, FL
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I copy the patients records for attorneys, insurance agencies, government agencies, as well as the patient.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am in charge of all patient charts at the facility and ensuring that the proper HIPPA guildelines are followed. I also must invoice the amount of copies made and submit the bills to the proper people

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
n/a

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i feel that i am under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes i work with a lot of different people on a daily basis. I like the interactions with others because i am a very outgoing person.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ami was still at home getting ready to go to work because i do not come in until ten o clock today
8am to 9ami was still at home getting ready to go to work because i do not come in until ten o clock today
9am to 10amJust got to work and i had a file room meeting to go over some of the new HIPPA guidelines. HIPPA is the federal regulations for releasing personal health information.
10am to 11amnothing out of the ordinary happened, i copied a few charts and spoke with a colleague about the upcoming meeting i was holding.
11am to 12pmI field a call from an attorney. The attorney was wanting to know why we did not send out one of our doctors records. I explained we could not release those because the doctors name was not on the request.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmJust got back from lunch to see i have a couple of charts to copy. All i needed to copy was the office notes. Office notes are what the doctor writes up after visiting with a patient. I copy three charts and then i have no more medical records requests to copy. I have to clock out and go home because we went through all of the days mail and i recieved no new medical requests.
2pm to 3pmn/a
3pm to 4pmn/a
4pm to 5pmn/a
5pm to 6pmn/a
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes i did an individual interview and was asked general medical office related questions. I was also taken to the facility and shown around the same day and hired.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What my 5 year plan was for myself. I was asked if i had used electronic medical records before. I was asked if i knew about HIPPA guidelines. I was asked what other healthcare providers i had worked for. I was asked if i had a problem working independently. I was asked about my navy background. I was asked what my parents do.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes i feel that they trained me very well and did not give me any surprises.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there was i was trained on the equipment that i use, copier, printer, computer. I was also trained in the current federal HIPPA guidelines. I was trained on the proper way to put a patient chart back together.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes i do feel that my educational background prepared me because of my experience with computers

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they try to get a job first at a healthcare provider working at the front desk. Working at the front desk gives a general overview of how an office works, and then i would suggest asking to be trained in medical records.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They need to have very good organizational skills to be able to decipher what records are ok to release and what ones are not according to the appropriate HIPPA laws. They need to be able to work independently and have a decent amount of computer experience. The person must also be able to stand for long periods of time.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No i do not becuase it is all on the job training.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would suggest that they find someone at the job that they get along with and try to shaddow them. Its very important to be able to learn and want to learn

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes it is because i am in the business school and i want to major in healthcare administration

What are your current career goals?
I want to be an office manager of a large medical facility.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1adminstrative assistant9 months18720i collected patient co pays, scheduled appointments, returned patient phone calls, pre-certified the patient insurances
Prior Job 2Aviation Electronics Technician4 years25000the troubleshooting and repair of electronic components in the s3 viking’s radar and navigation systems

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.55santa fe community collegebusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.