Paraprofessional In Special Education (Female, Age 47) in North Hills, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 47 who works as a Paraprofessional In Special Education in North Hills, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Paraprofessional In Special Education
Salary $29,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location North Hills, NY
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Los Angeles School District with over 10,000 eemployess

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Working with a certificated teaacher in a classroom of special education students.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have full health benefits, 10 sick days, paid holidays, and family leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Yes!!!

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with many peoples and this is wonderful for and to me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is in a school classroom.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Word of mouth

What was the application process?
Taking a district test.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had an individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How well do I like working with children?

Did I have an open mind?

What qualities could I bring to my job?

Am a team player?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
On the jog training as well as workshops. How to teach, how to handle children, how to be safe and how to workin a team setting.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Definitely

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to the schoold disrtict office or apply online.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good people skills, patience and n open mind to change.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes one should have at least an Assoicate degree and keep well informed and current on educational workshops and classes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Give the best that you have our chilfren and furture depend on it.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I love working with children.

What are your current career goals?
I would love to continue teaching.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s the best job for me and so rewarding.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 school aide 2 years 11.00 hr. assiting in any classroom that need help.
Prior Job 2 RETAIL 9 mons. 7.00 hr. packing merchandise in boxes to be shipped to the stores

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.6 rOBERT mORRIS Allied Health
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.