Direct Care Staff (Female, Age 37) in Red Bluff, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Direct Care Staff in Red Bluff, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDirect Care Staff
Salary$24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRed Bluff, NY
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a residential care facility for adults with developmental disabilities. I have worked there for 10 years. I arrive at the facility every morning at 6am and help the residents get ready for their day.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I assist these people with becoming as independent as they can. I prepare meals, assist with medications, transport and plan activities for them.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks annual vacations

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAssisting the residents with breakfast and medications.
8am to 9amAssist residents on leaving to their day programs for the day. Clean up after breakfast, load the dishwasher
9am to 10amOff until I return at 3pm
10am to 11amoff
11am to 12pmoff
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pmoff
2pm to 3pmoff
3pm to 4pmPrepare and put snack on table for when residents return from work. Assist with daily meds, prepare for dinner
4pm to 5pmHelp overnight staff get dinner made, or do an activity with a resident or two.
5pm to 6pmDinner time, with the staff and residents. Discuss how the day went
6pm to 7pmClean up after dinner, and get ready to assist with meds.
7pm to 8pmPut evening snack on table and assist with evening meds. Visit with residents after they are finished
8pm to 9pmGo home for the day
9pm to 10pmhome
10pm to 11pmhome
11pm to 12amhome

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.