(Male, Age 27) from Anderson, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Welder/Painter/Fabicator in Anderson, SC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Welder/Painter/Fabicator
Salary $23,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Anderson, SC
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for my father it is my fathers shop it has been passed down in the family his father owned it now he does. there is only 5 employees. we do welding and fabrication. we make alot of stairs and handrails but we do alot of other stuff. we try to do just about anything we can do

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i am welder and a painter and a fabicator. i help run the businees when my father the owner is not here.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. i sometimes like it and sometimes i dislike. i like it because it gets the job done faster. i dislike it because sometimes the person can just get in my way and not be much help to me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
it is a shop i like it because it is big and there is plenty of room to do the work that needs to be done

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
my father owns the business

What was the application process?
just asked my dad for the job

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
know how to weld and be prepared to have obtascles in your way because sometimes you run up on problems

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
you would need social skills because you have to work with other workers and customers on a everyday basis. you would need organization skills because you have to keep up with all the tools you need. you need technical skills because you always have to fix things

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
kind of

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
pay attention and take advice from your co-workers that have been there for awhile because they have learned the tricks to the job

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.