Licnesed Practical Nurse (Female, Age 52) in Miramar Beach, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 52 who works as a Licnesed Practical Nurse in Miramar Beach, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLicnesed Practical Nurse
Salary$22,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMiramar Beach, FL
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Elementary school nursing with 700 students. 100 employees at the school.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Performing medical procedures as ordered by Physician. Administering medications, generating and maintaining accurate documentation, working closely with parents, teachers and other staff to promote optimal health and wellness of students.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Emploee paid Blue Cross/Blue Shield health in surance and life insurance. Paid sick leave and PTO.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Undercompensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like my job. I work closely with other staff every day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI get to work at 7:15 and prepare ice packs for emergencies. I prepare my worksheet for the day to document times and natures of injuries or issues with students, etc. and prepare everything for the day. I listen to any phone messages and respond as soon as I can. I let the principal know of any issues with students.
8am to 9amI treat the students if they have any injuries and clean and apply bandages, give medications, speak to parents, staff about any issues. Let teachers know if any child/children is going home with an elevated fever or is not feeling well enough to stay at school.
9am to 10amI treat children for any injuries they may recive while playing or doing work. Papercuts, splinters, scrapes, take temps, etc.
10am to 11amThis is the busiest time of the day. There are several daily medications to administer at lunchtime and documentation for meds to be entered.
11am to 12pmI work on records when I am not busy with taking care of children’s needs. I must make sure all students have the proper documentation as mandated by the state and make a lot of calls to parents to notify and encourage them to get in all required documentation to the school ASAP.
12pm to 1pmI run errands for the office staff if I’m not busy and take notes to teachers, etc. I work on records, prepare bags of fluoride for the week to put in teachers’ boxes.
1pm to 2pmI start getting ready to clean things up for the day and lock the medicine cabinet in preparation to close the clinic. Everything is washed down and prepared for the next day and I call and remind parents to bring in meds for their children, etc.
2pm to 3pmI enter all totals at 2:30 when the children go home for the day. I finish up with any paperwork that needs to be filed and put in students’ health folders.
3pm to 4pmI go home at 3.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Enquired at schools and filled out applications and also sent resumes to the schools that I was interested in workgin at.

What was the application process?
All of the above.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed with both the Director of Health Services and also the Principal of the school.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked how much experience I had in the field of nursing and previous employment history. I was asked how I would react and handle certain situations.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I have a wonderful boss. One of the best I’ve ever had, in fact.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, there was training for my current position. I was shown where everything was in the clinic and what was expected of me, and required.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, it prepared me very well.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, it prepared me very well.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would direct the person to my supervisor and the main website to fill out an application for employment.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be a licensed nurse.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, most definitely.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Attend a nursing school and obtain a nursing license first of all.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I plan to retire in my current job and position.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goal is to retire with the school system.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Licensed Practical Nurse4 years22000School nursing.
Prior Job 2LPN1 yearPRN $13.50 hr.Providing pediatric nursing to homebound children. Medications, treatments, documentation.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.