Dental Assistant 

(Female, Age 44) from Jacksonville, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a Dental Assistant in Jacksonville, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Dental Assistant
Salary $15,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location Jacksonville, NY
Years Experience 10 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A private practice-semi-retired doctor

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Assisting doctor chairside next to patients, sterilizing instruments, making appointments, billing insurance companies, ordering supplies and answering the phone-depending which day of the week it is.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
just under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
When the semi-retired doctor is off I am alone in the office. Even when he is working, it is only myself, the doc, and a patient. I see people but not in large numbers. I dont care for large numbers of peeps.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Small house converted into dental office. I like that it was a house but it is a bit stark and cold.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
coworker referral

What was the application process?
Word of mouth and interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no just a referral and some introductions

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How much do I want?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
He just wanted me to jump in ready. He had his ex-aassistant train me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Going to class just like high school though you will actually be doing whats in the book.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
For the most part but every office is setup different.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
it helped with nerves.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to a tech school in your area and you should be able to get certified within months.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
honesty, diligence, good health

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
somewhat but it is also personality.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get comfortable and interested in learning about teeth

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is a stable career field

What are your current career goals?
To pursue my passions and interests after work. Leaning towards the green movement.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
passed Golden Hills dental School dental assistant
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.