Logistics Agent (Female, Age 46) in Nixa, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Logistics Agent in Nixa, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLogistics Agent
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNixa, MO
Years Experience10 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Trucking & Logistics Company I am a contracted employee. They employee about 100 people. My husband and I also own our own trucking business and I maintain all of the records of that business plus load our own truck.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Finding customers who need to move freight and then finding the truck to haul it.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
working from home

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
On the phone most all day long with so many people I love it!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home office I love it that I’m home

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amtrucking company calls on a load I have posted on load board. Confirm weight, length & money, They take the load. I fax them my contract packet to fill out and sign to fax back. I call my customer to see what time the load will be ready to pick up. Call driver tell them. Check that one off!
8am to 9amWork on more introduction letters to send out to potential new customers
9am to 10am” ” Work on finding a load out of Arizona for my truck, needing to come back to Missouri. No luck
10am to 11am” “”
11am to 12pmEat some lunch while still looking for loads.
12pm to 1pmrun to the post office to mail all my letters pick up cleaning
1pm to 2pmWork on phone w/ driver on picking up a Chicago load
2pm to 3pmdo filing
3pm to 4pmIt’s Friday! My truck is loaded and I’m off to mow my lawn!
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pmDriver does call with a question on the Chicago load. I have to call my customer at home (hate to do that but, had to and, he’s a doll!) Got that takin’ care of all good!
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
signed a contract

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
NO

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
already knew what to do

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Being an over the road truck driver for years and being around all aspects of this business was my training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. See answer above

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Find a mentor in this line of work

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be able to wear about 10 or more hats at once. Love people, great communication skills and customer service. And, be very, very quick on your feet!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Expect the unexpected. Things don’t always go as planned. Have a plan B.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. It’s something I can do when i’m 80

What are your current career goals?
More customers, get more well known to where my phone never stops ringing with loads to move & trucks to haul them.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Driver/ CSR4 yrs35000Kodak: truck driver deliver all photo supplies to large chain customers maintain truck and all records
Prior Job 2driver11 yrs40000over the road truck driver 48 states and Canada

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.