Accounting Specialist (Female, Age 41) in portland, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Accounting Specialist in portland, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAccounting Specialist
Salary$46,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationportland, OR
Years Experience10 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
OHSU – Oregon State Hospital, Anesthesiology Department. About 200 faculity, 35 of those being administrative (including me). OHSU is the largest employer in Oregon.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Maintaining the doctor, nurse and residents allotted annual spending accounts. Submitting paperwork to accounts payable for reimbursment to staff and vendors. Disbursing checks. Some HR duties of new hire paperwork, submitting new hire information to the HR department, orientation. Ordering of all office supplies for the various anesthesiology locations, ordering of coffee/beverage supplies as well.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 2 weeks sick time, health insurance through Aetna, a pension plan that OHSU contributes approx 12% of my salary to, Union employee with AFCME

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amNot at work yet
8am to 9amArrive at 8:30 am, check email, check mail box for incoming work
9am to 10amenter bills and reimbursement requests.
10am to 11amenter bills and reimbursement requests, answer calls as needed
11am to 12pmCheck office supply status, pick up printed checks for disbursement, get checks into envelopes
12pm to 1pmhalf hour lunch, put checks in mail, enter more payment/bill requests
1pm to 2pmentermore reimbursment requsets, double check balances for staff per various emails inquiring, answer staff questions
2pm to 3pmlook up office supplies needed, send reminder of ordering to other locations. Submit office supply orders.
3pm to 4pmEnter reimbursement requests, alphbatize them for supervisor
4pm to 5pmhand paperwork into supervisor for review, check mail for more requests, enter last minute items, give to supervisor.
5pm to 6pmClock out at 5pm.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.