Customer Service (Female, Age 30) in Oceanside, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Customer Service in Oceanside, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Service
Salary$20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOceanside, NY
Years Experience10 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a small company the stores multiple small apparel brands merchandise in our warehouse and ships it out to stores as needed.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Order entry, billing, dealing with customers via phone and email

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. Most of my customers are actually pretty cool.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. I work in a cubicle and I like the open environment and not being secluded in my own office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDrive to work.
8am to 9amCheck emails. Respond to any that I already know how to. Print out order info that needs to be entered.
9am to 10amEnter orders into the computer. Print them out and take them out to the warehouse to start being worked on.
10am to 11amWarehouse meeting to go over the plan for the day. Everyone goes around and says what they have going on as well as any pressing matters for the day.
11am to 12pmAnswer any other emails and enter other orders. Do any necessary research to solve any problems that may have come up.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmMake sure last orders are in. Contact customers to make sure if there is anything else they need for the day.
2pm to 3pmCheck on warehouse to make sure orders are being dealt with appropriately. Clarify which orders have been picked and which ones still need to be dealt with. Check in with the shipping department to make sure which orders have gone out.
3pm to 4pmConfirming orders that were shipped for the day. Adding tracking numbers as well as any charges to the orders.
4pm to 5pmChecking any last minute emails and preparing for the next day.
5pm to 6pmDriving home.
6pm to 7pmoff
7pm to 8pmoff
8pm to 9pmoff
9pm to 10pmoff
10pm to 11pmoff
11pm to 12amoff

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
temp agency

What was the application process?
none

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I got mine through a temp agency

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience, politeness, good grammar and problem solving skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not neccessarily education but definitely some training

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient and try to stay organized

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I eventually want to be a stay at home mom.

What are your current career goals?
none.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.