Engineering Project Manager (Male, Age 24) in Stafford, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Engineering Project Manager in Stafford, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleEngineering Project Manager
Salary$57,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationStafford, TX
Years Experience1.5 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The organization I work for is a fortune 500 company. The size of the organization is 20,000 +. The organization is made up of many smaller companies, approximately 120 over the past 40 years.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Duties include project management and establishing relationships with our vendors and our manufacturing facility personnel. I am responsible for the on time and on budget completion of projects ranging from 50,000 to 1.5 million dollars.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, unlimited sick leave, 401k, retirement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Average to below average

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I like my job because I establish relationships everyday, ranging from intercompany personnel to new vendors and customer.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We are one small group of 5 Project Managers who interact with eachother on a daily basis.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: -1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI spent this time commuting to work
8am to 9amI listened to voicemails on my office phone. I proceeded to return a call of a vendor. He had asked if I received his proposal. I returned his call but he was out of the office. I went through emails to determine priorities
9am to 10amMeeting with a coworker to determine which type of equipment to pursue in an upcoming project. Cost analysis was performed and a purchase order was issued
10am to 11amI sat down with my supervisor to explain my decision as to which vendor I have chosen for this specific project. We also discussed ongoing projects and I gave him a status update.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmListened to a voicemail once I returned from lunch. Made two phone calls regarding some repair for broken equipment in one of our facilities. I arranged on site meetings with each of these vendors.
1pm to 2pmI answered some emails and had to take a personal call. Emails were in regards to a project schedule for equipment which is on order.
2pm to 3pmMet with a different coworker to determine our plan for tomorrow. We are making a site visit to oversee installation of new equipment.
3pm to 4pmI walked over to our purchasing department to speak with our purchaser to make sure all paperwork had been submitted successfully. We also talked about a company event taking place tomorrow.
4pm to 5pmTo wrap up the day, I made a second call to a vendor and spoke with my supervisor to tell him I was going to be out of the office and show him pictures of current equipment installation. We also talked about the company event and talked about new business opportunities
5pm to 6pmCommute Home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
College Career Fair

What was the application process?
Submit Resume, On Campus Interview, On site interview, Hire

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed twice. The first interview was a group interview at our college Career Center. This interview focused on leadership ability. The second onsite interview focused more on what discipline you were focused on and what your career goals entailed.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Worst Class? Favorite Class? Demonstrating Leadership?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, The training programs were sufficient along with the ongoing learning process.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, Training occured for the first year. Our company provided new hires with a week long training which described the company and the values and goals of the company as well as the different products and divisions within the company.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat, I focused on a different part of engineering but the fundamentals have remained the same.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend visiting recruiting websites and also doing online research to find a list of the top employers in your area.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Skills should include socialization due to wide variety of relationships and a changing environment. An engineering background is required since the projects are of the engineering discipline. This position requires the ability to multitask because several projects are going on simultaneously.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Speak with coworkers to get a feel for how the organization operates and soak in as much information as possible. Do not be afraid to ask questions and always join in on conversation.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I wanted to start off managing projects on a small level and work my way up to larger projects. This current position is allowing me to do so.

What are your current career goals?
My career goals are to continue project management for approximately 10 years and then go into consulting and focus on a specialty within the industry.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I am very pleased with my current position even though I stressed out alot try to decide whether to accept this position or a different one. Don’t look back and continue forward.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Analyst6 months$15/ hrMy job was to forcast product usage for the HVAC Industry
Prior Job 2Cook4 months$8 / hrI was a cook for a local restaurant chain.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.89

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.66University of Missouri – RollaB.S. in Engineering Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)