Test Analyst I (Female, Age 27) in Dallas, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Test Analyst I in Dallas, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Test Analyst I
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 65
Company Size (not answered)
Location Dallas, GA
Years Experience 1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A worldwide travel company. That specializes in travel software.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Test various computer software for in house projects and outside products.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health, Dental, Vision, 401k, STD, LTD, 2 weeks vacation, 1 week PTO (sick/personal)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am underpaid at times, but overall I am compensated well.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Our department works as a team, we succeed as a team and we fail as a team. I love my job there is not anything to complain about.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
In the office – It is a bit of a drive for me so I really enjoy working from home and getting more done since I don’t have a comute.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Drive to the office today. Sit in traffic for over an hour and a half. Not a good traffic day.
8am to 9am Arrive late to office, set up my computer, and get started writing test scripts for the next release of the project.
9am to 10am Have a meeting with co-worker and boss about the details needed in the test scripts for specific part of the software.
10am to 11am Finish up meeting and get started writing the test scripts for the specific part of the software while waiting for Development to release the next build.
11am to 12pm Continue writing test scripts until noon.
12pm to 1pm Project party luncheon with the QA team, BI team, and Development to talk about the success we have had so far in the project.
1pm to 2pm return to desk, and continue writing test scripts while also working on the returned defect build from Development. Schedule reports with in the software
2pm to 3pm Finish up testing the returned defects, and checking the scheudled reports to see if they came in, and if not re-running the ones that didn’t come through.
3pm to 4pm meeting with manager about the details of the test scripts for certain report schedules that need to be added.
4pm to 5pm Drive home to get kids from school. Sit in traffic for 1.5 hours. Traffic not to bad this afternoon.
5pm to 6pm prepare snacks for kids and start dinner.
6pm to 7pm get kids settled, log back into work and continue working on reports and test scripts for the software.
7pm to 8pm take a break from work to get kids bathed and in bed.
8pm to 9pm return to continue working on test scripts and reports.
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and electronic application, 2 interveiws.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Interviewed with the director of IT and the Manager of the QA department.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Honestly no.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was trained on the systems, and processes of the company and the QA department.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Prior to employement, no. Only School.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I know how to use computers, and write test scripts, understand the functionality of different software and how to test it.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a degree in the IT field. Learn as much as you can about software and testing, how to test, and negative testing.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A lot of technical skills, social skills, organization skills are also key when there are multiple projects going on.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, but I also feel that experience in the field is also key.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take a lot of notes when training on the company’s systems and processes. Always ask questions first, there is no room for the “I didn’t know” response. If you don’t know ask and find out!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because I wanted to be in the IT field.

What are your current career goals?
Continue my carreer in the IT field, to work my way up the “ladder” and be promoted within the current company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 QA tester 3 40000 Tested computer software for an engineering firm.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 Kennesaw State BS in Computer Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.