Libarian (Female, Age 26) in Rossville, KS

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Libarian in Rossville, KS. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLibarian
Salary$43,837
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRossville, KS
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i am a librarian at a large university

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Create and deliver instruction to students

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, life insurance, sick leave, holidays

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am ok with what i make

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i like working in the library a lot. the environment is cool.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
in a large library on the campus of a large public university

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amcommute to work. not really on the payroll.
8am to 9amcheck email and check phone messages. i get caught up to get ready for the day. i don’t usually actually get to work on projects much.
9am to 10ammeetings with co-workers and others around campus. i actually get to work and feel productive.
10am to 11ammeetings like the hour before. Sometimes I am out of them by around 10:30 and work independently on my office.
11am to 12pmwork on projects in my office. if a meeting is really long then it may run over.
12pm to 1pmlunch. i dont’ really work. i try to get out of th eoffice and meet up with people outside of my workplace.
1pm to 2pmWork on projects and sometimes meetings. Sometimes lunch runs long and I don’t actually work during this time.
2pm to 3pmI work independently on projects at this time. This time of the day gets really really long.
3pm to 4pmMore projects again. I use the computer a lot for my various projects
4pm to 5pmI work on projects until 4:30. I go home at 4:30 so I only work 30 minutes of this our.
5pm to 6pmI commute home at this time. i do not work
6pm to 7pmcook and eat dinner with my husband. i watch tv too.
7pm to 8pmi go outside at home and relax or work on stuff at home.
8pm to 9pmwatch tv. i relax from the busy day.
9pm to 10pmtake a shower and go to bed. I get ready to go to bed.
10pm to 11pmI sleep at this time. i am never up this late.
11pm to 12amSleeping. I am sleeping now.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
email list serv

What was the application process?
cover letter & resume, references called, in person interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, a day of meetings and a presentation

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
asked a lot about my experiences teaching

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i was a library director

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
bachelor’s and masters degree. the masters must be in library & information science

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i made sure to take appropriate courses

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to library school, get an undergrad and be active in the profession

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
research and communication skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
a masters of library and information science

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be flexible and don’t take things too personally

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i want to obtain a tenure track librarian position

What are your current career goals?
obtain a tenure track librairan position at a major university

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1library director9 months34000director of the community college’s library
Prior Job 2librarian1.5 years43837instruction librarian

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.98

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.98ksuBA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4LSUMLIS

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.