Administration/Paralegal (Female, Age 50) in Rochester, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 50 who works as a Administration/Paralegal in Rochester, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAdministration/Paralegal
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRochester, NY
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Firm size (locally) 9 Partners/Associates 4 Secretaries 1 Finance 1 Patent Paralegal 1 office Manager; Intellectual Property

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Patent/Trademark research; filing trademarks (electronically); generated weekly docket reports; special projects; docketing (actions)

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 wks vacation; 11 days off; 6 sick days (can be used as vacation-also, any remaining sick days at end of year are paid out) 401k (vested after 3 years)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, for the most part. I work more closely with the attorneys. I enjoy both.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
The majority of my work load is reseaved from the attorneys once completed I then pass it on to their secretary.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amPull docket report and distribute to attorneys and their secretaries.
9am to 10amdocketing. Enter in all new incoming actions for attorney docket. Distribute files to secretaries.
10am to 11amSpecial project. Continue inserting client data and copy past drawings from USPTO onto word document. Title each word page and include abstract description (where indicated).
11am to 12pmcontinue with client profile document. Get additional information from internet.
12pm to 1pmClient profile, internet research for additional information.
1pm to 2pmClient profile. Sit with attorney to review packet. Make the necessary changes to word document. Call client to get information concerning abstract of three items. Review with attorney. Have secretary pull files needed to complete entries.
2pm to 3pmClient profile. Sort through Patents and Design applications. Add new items to word document to complete profile. Submit to attorney for approval.
3pm to 4pmCall around for best copy source. Get pricing for binding of profile and timeframe to complete. Call client to set up meeting for later in the week to go over finished document.
4pm to 5pmleft office at 4:15 to pick up car. Returned to office to file application with USPTO due today.
5pm to 6pmN/A
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper ad listing an open house for a temporary service

What was the application process?
Walk-in. Fill out application. Testing (usually) I however was not tested due to experience (go figure). Interview. I did the normal ‘thank you’ and ‘follow up’ requirements and was called within one week to interview with the Office Manager of the firm.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. One interview with one rep. I googled the firm prior to, researched the net, jotted down 3 questions I wanted to ask in the interview. Hired on the spot.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They were big on accomplishments. What had you done in your previous position where you received praise/reward/acknowledgement from upper management. Also, how well you worked with co-workers. Deligating techniques, training techniques

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I believe they had great trust in my abilities.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Well, sort of. The paralegel was leaving in two weeks. I was offered the position two days prior to her leaving. The good part about it was I had trained with the paralegel prior to her announcement simply because I (1) offered assistance when I had time (2) found her line of work interesting

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, and No. I truly believe my work experience had more of an impact.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Think about going through a temporary service prior to committing to a direct hire.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They must first have the ability to work with ALL types of people and at different levels. Attention to detail and listening skills are two very important key factors. Their administrative skills should also be high on their list of ‘must have’.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, and No. Do I think a person (in today’s world) could effectively do my job without having their HS diploma, No. How about someone with a HS diploma with little or no ‘work’ experience, No. Let’s say someone with a HS diploma and many years (15+) of ‘effective work’ experience, Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Please be prepared to accept change and the different attitudes.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now. I only accept positions where there’s room for me to grow as a person. If I’ve already been there…done that…and mastered it, then I am not interested in repeating it. Tried it once, got bored.

What are your current career goals?
To master current position, retire in 5 to 7 years. Volunteer

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nothing

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Manager3 years60000Managed a team of 6 internal auditors. Reports (written and verbal), budget, etc.
Prior Job 2Manager/HR2 years40000Hiring new employees (for all departments), job fairs, commercials, trainer, motivation seminars

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75MCCBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.