Program Director (Female, Age 28) in Muskegon, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Program Director in Muskegon, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProgram Director
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMuskegon, MI
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a large non-profit organization that employs approximaetly 130 employees and runs approximatetly 20 different programs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I oversee all aspects of a county-wide Big Brothers Big Sisters program.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
vacation is accrued based on hours worked, full health and dental insurance, 401k elgible at the one year mark

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I am constantly working with others; either co-workers or clients. I love working with other people. No two days are the same and I enjoy that variety.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My office space is located within a non-profit residential camp. Because there are multiple programs happening there is constant hustle and bustle throughout the office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amArrive at work; check voice mail messages and emails. Respond as neccesary. Review schedule to determine any scheduled meetings. Prepare paperwork for the days meetings.
9am to 10amContact current volunteers via email or telephone. Review needed match details and check in on how the match is progressing.
10am to 11amComplete online trainings via National website.
11am to 12pmComplete needed paperwork on adult volunteers and enrolled childlren in the program. Write assessments and determine needs for the match.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmSearch for new program funding opportunities. Submit proper reporting to non-profit agency and national organization.
2pm to 3pmPromote upcoming activities via social media, print-ads, email, newsletters, etc. Make phone calls to potential Business Donors.
3pm to 4pmReview budget for the prior and upcoming months to make sure the program is on track. Contact parents and children in the program via phone call to discuss on the match is going; verify none of the match parties have any safety concerns.
4pm to 5pmConduct interview for new adult volunteers, or interviews for child to become enrolled in the program.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and cover letter

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One interview with two supervisors

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The one question I remember was if I had experience working with at-risk youth.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was already knowledgeable about the program and have previously worked at a different non-profit for the same program. This cut down on the need of multiple tranings.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Job shawdowing

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, but more so relying on my previous employment.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have knowledge and or expierence with nonprofit organizations. Know the mission of the organization that you intend to work for.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Flexibility- the ability to change directions and plans with very short notice. Social skills- ability to interact with youth, parents, and adult volunteers. Computer skills- knowledge of internet and Microsoft applications.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, education, experience or a combination of both.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have knowledge of community resources to refer to others. Understand varying communication styles and adapt to work with clients when neccesary.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is giving me more opportunity to grow as an indiviual and allow my resume to grow with experience.

What are your current career goals?
Get my masters degree and continue to work in the nonprofit field.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
None at this time.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Program Director1 year32p000Oversee Big Brothers Big Sisters program
Prior Job 2Program Director2 years30000Oversaw Federal AmeriCorps grant, supervised AmeriCorps members

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.69

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Western Michigan UniversityBA Interpersonal Communication
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.