Office Manager (Female, Age 24) in Oceanside, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Office Manager in Oceanside, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week80
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOceanside, CA
Years Experience1.5 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small business, we install small business phone systems, wire, commercial and residential.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible of taking all calls, accounting, schedueling, and office duties such as marketing, and others.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
No benifits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Underpaid, but only due to the size of our business.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the Owner on a daily basis, and enjoy what I do.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submitted resume via internet.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I was asked what experience I have in the office, what my strengths were…ect… the basic interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Strenghts, weaknesses, goals, experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I didn’t need too much preparation, I have the ability to pick things up regardless of the position I’m confronted with.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, I pretty much had to pick up everything as time went on.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I have yet to use anything, other than english. HAHA

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would reccomed being a multi-tasker, and be able to work hard without having someone constantly telling you what needs to be done to grow the business.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization, good personality, knowledgable in all microsoft programs, quicken, quickbooks and other related to a managerial position.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Trianing as in knowing software programs, yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
If it seams like a minute goes by and you have nothing to do, you aren’t being effective in being a partner to the business.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I plan to go into medical transcription or nursin, they will both always be in demand, and pay a bit more….especially they have room to climb up the $ ladder.

What are your current career goals?
Get into medical transcription training, get certified, move to Oregon, be able to afford a house (a fixer upper, so I can give it my personality)…haha anything else?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Bills get higher…pay doesn’t…time for a change…soon…

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Bookkeeper2 years16000Bookkeeper and sales associate to well known retail chain. Was responsible for End Of Day Sales, A/P, A/R and so on.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Mira Costa CommunityAssociates in Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.