Component Engineer 

(Male, Age 35) from San Diego, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 35 who works as a Component Engineer in San Diego, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Component Engineer
Salary $60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location San Diego, CA
Years Experience 1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
part RoHS compliance, and alternates.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 10 days sick, blue cross health, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, sometimes it can be tedious

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am interact with vendors, confirm data
8am to 9am data entry
9am to 10am Work with group of efficiency of data entry.
10am to 11am Automate BOM (build of material) scrubs. Check for obsolescences of parts, and non compliant RoHS parts.
11am to 12pm Create metrics for number of parts entered. Prepare for presentation of these metrics to higher level management.
12pm to 1pm Create metrics for number of parts entered.
1pm to 2pm Create metrics for number of parts entered.
2pm to 3pm Create metrics for number of parts entered.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes – 3 interviews. Some technical.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes they also set me up to excel.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No – engineers trained me.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I would have progressed faster if I had started out with the education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get at least an associates degree in engineering.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, attention to detail, must be flexible

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
at least an associates

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work hard – it pays off.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes – I want to eventually become manager of this group or a group similar to it in another company.

What are your current career goals?
Complete bachelors in Electrical Engineering. Then take over the group.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Component Engineer 1-1/2 years 60000 evaluate components, check RoHS compliance, support project at the component level.
Prior Job 2 Associate Engineer 10 years 45000 Plan and lead builds, evaluate builds, evaluate components, check RoHS compliance, support project at the component level.