Owner And Inventor (Female, Age 30) in Putnam, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Owner And Inventor in Putnam, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner And Inventor
Salary$100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPutnam, NY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I created a product for babies, the SoothEaze blanket, and have since started a company, which I run out of my house.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I run all operational aspects of this company, as it is a start up. I also employ contractors to assist with web maintainence, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K, health insurance, IRA

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work in a home office, but I interact with people over the phone and internt

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
home office; quiet and peaceful, yet I can spend time with my dogs if I feel like I want a break.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amMeeting with toy production company to discuss how the prototype design is coming along for the new blanket;
8am to 9amDepost $ into the bank; reviw invoices and pay out contractors. Review and respond to all emails
9am to 10amReach out to mothers via email and website, in order to draw up interest in company; email bloggers to see if they will feature my product or want to review it.
10am to 11amContinue to contact mom bloggers, looking to be featured
11am to 12pmWriting up and posting press release on various PR sites to advertise new website, www.sootheaze.com; check emails and respons.
12pm to 1pmPost to social media sites; add additional friends to sites.
1pm to 2pmCall with website contractor to review upgrades and maintainence to site.
2pm to 3pmResearch current trends in the baby industry re: hot products
3pm to 4pmContinue researching trends
4pm to 5pmLook for baby expos and shows I can attend to market my produt.
5pm to 6pmPhone call with textile company re: fabric options for blanket.
6pm to 7pmEnd of work for the day
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pmCheck and respond to emails; check website is running properly.
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Self

What was the application process?
None

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
N/A

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
sales and marketing onling training; watching webinars and tutorials online re; starting and running your own business.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes; I had a large knowledge base re: sales/marketing, having worked in a non-profit; great computer skills and was very organized, as I was a supervisor for over 5 yrs.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
look at the small business websites online and watch their free videos on how to start a business of your own. Also, review all the free templates out there, like a business plan, financials, NDA, etc.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, as they will be interacting via phone and email with clients and workers. Sales– you will need to be able to sell your product, idea or services. You need to sound confident in doing this; Technical skills–most work is done with a computer, so you need to be comfortable with a computer; organizational — you need to be disciplined to be able to sit at a computer for 8-10 hrs. a day without interuptions.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
At least an Associates degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It is the best thing I ever did. I loved that I was able to bring my idea to market. If you are creative and have a product or service you want to sell or share, why not do it. You will be glad that you did.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, this is what I want to do from here on out.

What are your current career goals?
Continue to develop more baby products to bring to market.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
If you think you have a great idea or service to offer someone, don’t feel like it can’t be done — it can.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Manager of Health Education and Operations4 1/2 yrs.55000Ran all operations on health education center in a local hospital and supervised 3 staff and 10+ interns and volunteers.
Prior Job 2Admin. Asst. III2 yrs.35000Did all sr. level administrative services for health education dept.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Worcester State CollegeBS Health Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.