Research Scientist (Male, Age 33) in Middletown, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 33 who works as a Research Scientist in Middletown, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleResearch Scientist
Salary$41,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMiddletown, NY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
University of connecticut

about 10000 employees total. My department has about 100 full time employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
carry out scientific research in my laboratory. I design and conduct experiments. I also mentor graduate students and help out other in the department. I also help with the day to day running of the laboratory such as ordering supply, meeting, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
HMO, prescription plan, 1 week vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. I like working with others especially if they are pleasant to work with. If my co-workers are unpleasant to work with, I simply keep everything professional and keep interactions to a minimum.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a laboratory inside a science building. The building is fairly new and the amenities are quite good. I like my current working environment

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amwake up, have breakfast, work out
8am to 9amcommute to work
9am to 10ammorning meeting with the whole group. someone within the group will be presenting research data or review of journal articles
10am to 11amplan out experimental details which include amount of material, specific conditions,etc
11am to 12pmrespond to emails and catch up with paperwork
12pm to 1pmlunch hour
1pm to 2pmcarry out actual experiments, actually time varies depending on the nature of experiments
2pm to 3pmcontinue to work on experiments. read journal articles during down time
3pm to 4pmcontinue on experiments and planning for the next few days’ experiments
4pm to 5pmcatchup on paperwork, email and talk with collegaues about their days
5pm to 6pmcommute home
6pm to 7pmhave dinner at home
7pm to 8pmwatch tv
8pm to 9pmuse computer, listen to online radio, read magazine
9pm to 10pmrelax and watch tv, read magazine
10pm to 11pmclean house, getting ready to turn in
11pm to 12amgo to bed

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I asked my current boss if he is hiring

What was the application process?
I submitted resume and reference letters

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
just phone interview with my current boss. Nothing else

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
about my skills and backgrounds and also scientific interest and future goals

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, my boss and other senior members are all very willing to teach me and train me

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, I’ve learned most of the techniques I’m using now during graduate school.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I was trained in the same field as my current job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I had no internship experience

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Do a lot of research and find a topic of genuine interest. Otherwise they won’t be able to survive the hard work with relatively little reward.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
critical thinking and willing to learn every theory behind each specific techniques. Good social skills is also required. Good understanding of how things work and be a good learner

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, need a graduate degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
learn the techniques well and need to think independently and critically

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is part of the plan. We also need to go through this stage before moving on to the next level

What are your current career goals?
I want to move up to the next level and earn a much higher salary

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
none

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1scientist2 yrs36000research scientist in an academic laboratory
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4WesleyanBiochemistry
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AWashington universityBiophysics

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.