Petty Officer First Class (Male, Age 28) in San Antonio, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 28 who works as a Petty Officer First Class in San Antonio, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Petty Officer First Class
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location San Antonio, TX
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
US Navy

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am an engineer on a submarine.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, vision,

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes – i work with a small group of people. i enjoy this aspect of my job because it’s nice to have human interaction. i dislike this part of my job because we are in such a small space that they can get on my nerves easily.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
yes – my supervisors and co-workers are easy to get along with.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am sleeping
8am to 9am sleeping
9am to 10am leave for wotk (when not at sea)
10am to 11am arrive at work (when not at sea)
11am to 12pm find out what is on the agenda
12pm to 1pm work at the computer
1pm to 2pm work at the computer
2pm to 3pm work at the computer
3pm to 4pm work at the computer
4pm to 5pm work at the computer
5pm to 6pm work at the computer
6pm to 7pm go home (when not at sea)
7pm to 8pm eat dinner
8pm to 9pm watch tv
9pm to 10pm read a book
10pm to 11pm go to bed
11pm to 12am sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
scholarship program at school

What was the application process?
a series of interviews, approval from commanders

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes – an interview in San Diego, an interview with a 4 star general in Washington D.C., paperwork, swearing in.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
i don’t recall.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes – 1.5 years of naval school (post college) taught me all the things i needed to know

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes – a year and a half of school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes – my college degree taught me all the engineering stuff i needed to pursue this career

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
talk to a Navy recruiter and have a college degree! also, make sure he/she isn’t claustrophobic.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
high-level math, college degree, social skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
ABSOLUTELY!!!

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be ready to compromise and be stuck in small spaces

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes – i wanted to be in the military

What are your current career goals?
make the next pay grade

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
it is fun!!! 🙂

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 PO 1 year 40000 Submarine Engineer
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.25 University of Texas at San Antonio Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a n/a n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.